Sierra dragging on Mac Pro 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by threemonkeyzoo, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. threemonkeyzoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    #1
    Mac pro 5,1, new in mid 2013, 3.3 ghz, 6 core, 48 gb ram, 250 gb ssd boot disk, 3tb hd, 1 tb hd, mac gtx680 card.
    I just installed Sierra last week, and boy is it slow and laggy. I've looked up everything I could find for a fix, pram reset, smc reset, file cleaners, ect,,doesn't help. Especially noticeable opening itunes and mail, they really seem to crawl. And streaming radio on itunes just doesn't even work anymore.General internet seems ok, but everything has a lag to it, not at all snappy like El Capitan. Any ideas before I have to go back to El Capitan?
     
  2. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Any chance you installed it on one of the HDDs and not the SSD?

    I have Sierra running on a 5,1, 64GB memory, 12-core 3.46GHz, 480GB+1TB Fusion drive, GTX 680 and zero lag whatsoever, everything is quick.
     
  3. threemonkeyzoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    #3

    Thanks, no, it's on the ssd
     
  4. Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Check out activity monitor to see if something is eating up resources, such as spotlight indexing etc
     
  5. threemonkeyzoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    #5

    thanks, yes, I did, nothing was using a majority, or even close. Really weird.
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    ^^^^Something's very wrong. Sierra is very snappy for me.

    Lou
     
  7. threemonkeyzoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    #7
    I don't know if it has anything to do with it,, but when I booted in safe mode to see if it was snappier, there was much screen flickering. Rebooted in normal mode and none.
     
  8. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    Did you do an upgrade or a clean install? I had that issue because I upgraded over Yosemite to El Cap on my 3,1 and Ihad the same issue. Try doing a clean install meaning create a bootable USB of Sierra, erase the SSD and reinstall
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    You can easily format the SSD and reinstall the latest OS in recovery partition, no need to create any USB drive.
     
  10. threemonkeyzoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    #10
    Yes, I upgraded vs clean install. I'll give it a shot, thanks
    --- Post Merged, Jun 21, 2017 ---
    Thanks,
     

Share This Page