Sierra Kernel_task using 32GB ram 10.12.4 and 10.12.5

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by saudor, May 30, 2017.

  1. saudor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #1
    So when i click on APPLE->ABOUT -> storage and MANAGE STORAGE, kernel_task goes on memory eating spree and crashes the computer..Happens on both my systems..

    Does this happen to you too?
     
  2. dianeoforegon macrumors 6502a

    dianeoforegon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
  3. SteveJobzniak macrumors 6502

    SteveJobzniak

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    #3
    Before:

    kernel_task = 660MB.

    After opening Manage Storage:

    kernel_task = 667 MB, which then shrunk to 662 a few seconds later.
     
  4. 1024724 macrumors member

    1024724

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    #4
    kernal_task is consistently using just at 3 GB (usually like 3.05-ish) from the second the machine boots up. I've always felt like that was a bit much. No idea. Do you have a bunch of peripherals or 3rd party stuff?
     
  5. saudor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #5
    That's really odd. I've asked my friend and they said it was fine. Funny how i can replicate this issue at 100% certainty. The mouse prefpane also crashes occasionally... on both my machines too.

    The only thing common with them was that they were both upgraded directly from el capitan

    EDIT: My Macbook is pretty vanilla - dont have anything major other than dropbox and whatnot running. The other one of course runs bettertouchtool, Plex, Crashplan, etc. Nothing is connected to the macbook
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Sounds like a memory leak. Have you tried turning it off and on again?

    No joke. Restarting with reopen windows when logging back in unchecked will clear the RAM and prevent background tasks from reopening. Could well solve the issue.

    Also did you do a fresh install or restore from a Time Machine backup?
     
  7. SteveJobzniak macrumors 6502

    SteveJobzniak

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    #7
    @saudor It may be an Apple bug, but just really rare. It's not happening to me.
     
  8. saudor, Jun 1, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2017

    saudor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #8
    Im going to set up a clean install on another SSD so will update this. (restarting it doesnt work even with that open windows thing unchecked)

    It's just weird that it's happening on both my systems and one of them barely has any third party apps.


    EDIT: clean install seems to fine. So it must have been something in the El Cap -> Sierra upgrade process for both the systems
     

Share This Page