Sierra known hacker disabled Console

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by csuitejv, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #1
    A former tech person of my company has been hacking my home network. I've just noticed that all Diagnostic and User Reports have been deleted and that there are 0 messages. How do I delete the code that disabled Console and turn it back on? I have attached a screen shot.

    This is an EMERGENCY. Thanks SO much!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. steve23094, Feb 1, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2017

    steve23094
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #2
    It's not impossible Gary, but every time I have seen somebody post similar claims it has turned out to be something else. So take a deep breath and relax a little bit for now. Somebody will be along shortly.

    I'll get the popcorn.

    BTW You don't have access to console because you're not an Administrator user. Ask Valerie to login.
     
  3. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Feb 2, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the good advice steve23094. Two questions please:

    1. Why did you write "I'll get the popcorn" and,

    2. "Ask Valerie to login"?
     
  4. T'hain Esh Kelch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    1. Because he thinks this is a regular case of user error, where the user will defend their obscene idea over a long thread, which will turn out to be something completely trivial.

    2. Its Valeries iMac. Provide us with a screenshot of System Preferences -> Users & Groups.
     
  5. Sital
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Sital

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    1. He means he's going to sit back and enjoy watching the thread.

    2. On your screenshot it says "Valerie's iMac", so he's assuming Valerie is the administrator, not you.
     
  6. chrfr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    This is exactly how the Console should look to a non-admin user on a Mac in Sierra. There is absolutely no indication of "hacking" here.
     
  7. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #7
    --- Post Merged, Feb 2, 2017 ---
    Thanks SO much! On last question please. I have deleted Thunderbolt multiple times from both my Network and Manage Virtual Interfaces. As you will see from the screenshot of EtreCheck, it shows that their is a Thunderbolt device connected and the second screen shot shows the Remote Disc. Please advise. Thanks again.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. steve23094
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #8
    Gary. In broad brushstrokes this stuff is supposed to be there. Leave it alone and stop trying to delete things before you totally screw up your computer. Seriously.
     
  9. willmtaylor
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #9
    How can someone know so much yet know so little. Baffling.
     
  10. chrfr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    No, it does not show there's a Thunderbolt device attached. The icon you've clicked on is describing what that section is for. The popup is hiding the section that would show where devices are, if you had a Thunderbolt device attached. You do not.
    Remote Disc is always there and should be. It does nothing unless there's a computer on your network that is sharing a CD or DVD.
    Edit: also, run Software Update. You're still running macOS version 10.12. The current version is 10.12.3 and has a lot of bug fixes and security updates.
     
  11. zone23
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #11
    Just so you know my Macbook which has no CD-ROM shows a Remote Disk just like yours. Also I would venture to say that your system shows a Thunderbolt Information because you have a thunderbolt port mine says Apple Inc, thunderbolt_bus. Since the windows is on top of the EtreCheck I can't actually see that anything is connected to it. That said sounds like a touch of paranoia.
     
  12. T'hain Esh Kelch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    Dude, put your computer away, stop worrying, and read a book. Your computer will still be there when you come back, and as expected in post #2 in this thread, this is clearly another case of disillusional user error.
     
  13. FreakinEurekan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #13
    Plus, smart move on Valerie's part making this a non-Admin user :/ could cause some REAL damage otherwise.
     
  14. Rok73
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #14
    Man, this thread is gold. Perfect Friday afternoon entertainment in the office. :D
     
  15. Apple 26.2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Apple 26.2

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    What up, 212?!
    #15
    Maybe it's the skeptic in me, but every time I see this sort of post, I can't help but think that shenanigans are at play. In this case, I don't think OP had authorized use to the Mac.
     
  16. willmtaylor
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #16
    I'd say skepticism of anon internet personas is generally called for.
     
  17. zaxxon72
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #17
  18. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #18
    --- Post Merged, Feb 6, 2017 ---
    I understand and except your critiques. Please take a quick look at the attachment and you will see that the computer network named "Thunderbolt Bridge" is selected. I have a brief video showing my Wifi (should be selected) going back and forth with the Thunderbolt Bridge.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. chrfr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #19
    This is of no concern. It is possible to create a network and connect two computers via Thunderbolt, so you will see this as an option in the Network Interfaces list. Thunderbolt is a physical connection, which requires that a cable that comes out of the back of the computer and connects to another. You would know if it was connected to something else, and if there was a connection, the red dot next to the "Thunderbolt Bridge" item in the network port list would be green.
    Again, you have not shown any evidence that your computer is hacked.
     
  20. steve23094, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017

    steve23094
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #20
    What @chrfr said. Your screenshot is normal behaviour, nothing you have posted shows any evidence that you have been hacked. Your posts here exhibit paranoia more than anything else, you appear to be fishing for something that just doesn't exist.

    It's very easy to find information about all the things you have queried so far, web searches would give you an explanation how all these things work and that they are harmless.

    I'm enjoying my popcorn. Anybody got some butter?
     
  21. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #21
    I understand the functionality of Thunderbolt. This is a network that appears under "manage virtual interfaces" and it is simply the name given to it.
     
  22. steve23094
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #22
    In this case you clearly don't. You're repeatedly questioning everybody on this thread that has given you appropriate and accurate advice. Why don't you take it?
     
  23. csuitejv
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    #23
    As you will see from this attachment, when I attempt to delete the network, it shows that it is in use. Please keep in mind that this is only the name given to the virtual network.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. decafjava
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    decafjava

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Geneva
  25. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #25
    That is normal. The Thunderbolt connection is not connected to anything. You cannot delete it. The only thing you can do is ignore it. It isn't doing anything as long as you don't have a Thunderbolt cable connecting two Macs together.
     

Share This Page