Sierra public beta boot loop issue

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by hypeneko, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. hypeneko macrumors newbie

    hypeneko

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    #1
    Hi all

    Have been putting off installing the public beta on my iMac with fusion drive but last night I wasn't thinking right and installed it. It froze with 11 minutes remaining for around 90 minutes. Did some research and people said that a hard reset is not optional, but did deliver results in having it boot properly when people had similar issues with Sierra.

    I did that and it brings up the grey Apple logo but then shows kernel panic and the 'Your computer encountered an issue, press any key or wait' etc. When it reboots, the same happens.

    Using the recovery partition shows no issues with the drives and it only gives me the option to Install a new version of Sierra, which gives the same result on installation completion, even though it doesn't freeze.

    Internet recovery brings me back to Mountain Lion, but obviously won't install over a newer version of the software.

    No time machine backup - like I said, wasn't thinking, my cat had just been put to sleep - so I know I'm fighting a tough one. Booked a Genius appointment for tomorrow night but would rather fix it myself if it's an easy one.

    Thanks in advance

    Matt
     
  2. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #2
    Unless you have installation media from a previous version of OS X, then erase your startup volume and use Internet Recovery. Always have a copy of your OS's installer on hand as a bootable USB because they don't give it to you anymore (not even Windows does anymore). If you want to install Sierra, make a bootable USB for the duration of the beta.

    Also, this is why Internet Recovery exists.
     
  3. hypeneko thread starter macrumors newbie

    hypeneko

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    #3
    Erasing my startup volume will also erase all my files, right? Not sure if I am thinking of the same volume you are thinking of - the default Macintosh HD.

    I'm creating a bootable USB now on my work machine. I'm happy to go to El Capitan or Sierra, I don't mind which. I just need a working computer again with my files.

    Sorry for needing clarification but appreciate your help!
     
  4. mikzn macrumors 6502

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    NorVan
    #4
    if you have 2 Mac's then you might be able to use target disk mode to "recover / back up" any important files before attempting to reinstall. IE use your work machine to access the mac that has the damaged OS?

    You can probably use the work mac to install Sierra again - assuming that you have Sierra installer file on the work Mac.

    Link to Target Disk Mode info
     
  5. hypeneko thread starter macrumors newbie

    hypeneko

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    #5
    Thanks very much, will try and keep my fingers crossed for it!
     
  6. mikzn macrumors 6502

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    NorVan
    #6
    Most likely your files are ok, sounds like something went wrong with the installer. Reinstalling will probably fix it.
     
  7. hypeneko thread starter macrumors newbie

    hypeneko

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    #7
    Hey guys,

    Thanks for your help, this worked perfectly.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page