Sierra will not install

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Mcthings, Sep 23, 2016.

  1. Mcthings macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #1
    I am having trouble installing macOS Sierra on my 2010 MBP.

    It tries to install, then gives me an error that says "macOS could not be installed on your computer" and "An internal error has occurred"

    I have attached a picture of the error.

    Any ideas? Before attempting the download/install, it told me I didn't have enough room on my disk for the upgrade. So I deleted some stuff, and then it let me download and install. Looking at the disk utility, I have almost zero room left on the disk now that the upgrade image is there. Could this be related?

    Thanks...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #2
    you need more room for the upgrade to expand files. id recommend freeing up 15 to 20 gb of space or backup and do a fresh install
     
  3. Mcthings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #3
    How do I free up space? it won't boot past the screenshot I posted.

    It told me to free the space before the install. I freed up a few GB and then it let me proceed with the install.
     
  4. Tarek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    #4
    I am guessing you won't have the ability to 'free up' space using Disk Utility, but rather format the whole drive; however, have you thought about loading your Mac in target disk mode and accessing it from another computer that way? On my older MacBook Pros, I could do that using FireWire, and I am guessing you can do so using Thunderbolt now? You'd just need the proper cable and a tutorial on how to actually access Target Disk Mode (Reboot Mac and hold "T" button while it is booting up). With that being said, it requires that you don't have FileVault Encryption turned on to begin-with.
     
  5. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #5
    Since your disk is full and the state of the OS is unknown since the install failed, you may have to (assuming you have the Install DVDs that shipped with your MBP, a working optical drive, and a good recent backup of your system):

    1. Your MBP shipped with Snow Leopard, so boot from the install DVD, erase your internal drive (WARNING: all data will be wiped from the internal drive) and install Snow Leopard. Then update to 10.6.8 so you have access to the Mac App Store.

    2. Install macOS Sierra from the Mac App Store.

    3. Use Migration Assistant to copy your old data, settings and apps.
     
  6. Mcthings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #6
    Is it possible to delete files or a directory from Terminal?
     
  7. Tarek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    #7
    Try your luck with this.
     
  8. Mcthings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #8
    Thanks. I'm having trouble navigating. My thought is to use Terminal to delete a folder on my desktop called "Cool Pics". I think that will free up enough room on the HDD to make the install.

    Any idea on the path/command to get to it?
     
  9. Tarek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    #9
    Try choosing the hard disk using this guide by @jsw:

    And follow the instructions here.

    Hopefully that works.
     
  10. Mcthings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #10
    I was able to navigate to it, see it, etc.

    When I run the rm –Rf /Volumes/HDDName/Users/UserName/Desktop/"Cool Pictures" command, it comes back with a list of every item in that folder, and at the end of each item it says "Read-only file system".

    Then I use the ls command at Desktop, and I can see "Cool Pictures" is still there.

    Am I in a read-only mode because I'm using Terminal within the MacOS updater?
     
  11. Tarek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    #11
  12. Mcthings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #12
    I'm getting sudo chflags 0 /Volumes/*
    sudo: command not found
     
  13. MickeyP63 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    #13
    I got the same error. I had about 200G available on my HD before install.
    It got part way through the install and waxed my system. Tries to boot but I get a failure after entering my user credentials and then crash screen.
     
  14. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #14
    If you're getting the "sudo: command not found" message and you're running from the Terminal in the Recovery utilities, try the entire command but without the "sudo" and see if it works. Otherwise, I would suggest starting a new thread explaining the details of your problem including configuration, what media you're using for installation, etc.
     

Share This Page