Signal discussion with ATT Chat.. OMG Comical

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Andru1313, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. Andru1313 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    Ok the Data issue is driving me NUTS!!! I logged in and I am chatting with Tech support. This is not a joke this is the actual conversation. Just blanked out personal info.

    Please wait while I transfer you to a representative at AT&T BDS.

    Chat InformationYou are now chatting with 'Chris' at AT&T BDS.

    Chris: Thank you for contacting Business Data Support. My name is Chris. Before we begin, can I confirm the wireless number that we will be working with is ###-###-####?

    Andrew: Hello Chris

    Andrew: yes

    Andrew: ###-###-####

    Chris: Thank you. I understand you're getting weak 3G signal on your iPhone 4, is that correct?

    Andrew: it doesn't show as being weak

    Andrew: that is the tricky part

    Andrew: showing 4-5 bars

    Andrew: and 3g

    Andrew: but pages don;'t load

    Andrew: and email times out

    Andrew: or connection error

    Chris: I'll be more than happy to assist you, one moment please.

    Chris: What is the address of that location?

    Andrew: ...........................

    Chris: Thank you. I'll be a few minutes.

    Andrew: But I have this issue at my house as well

    Andrew: been going on for the past few days

    Chris: Alright.

    Chris: Is it .......... street, ave, drive, etc?

    Andrew: ........... street

    Chris: Is there a building number?

    Andrew: ........ St.

    Chris: Thank you.

    Chris: Are any other AT&T devices having similar issues?

    Chris: Have you tried setting the iPhone 4 on a flat surface and then try to browse?
    Andrew: yes..

    Andrew: it works if I don't move around with it

    Andrew: but yesterday nothing worked

    Andrew: I rebooted the phone

    Andrew: pulled the sim

    Andrew: reset network connections

    Andrew: results the same

    Chris: And now it only works if you set it down?

    Andrew: at this moment yet

    Andrew: yes
    Chris: Alright. I'll be a few minutes.

    Andrew: please don't' tell me I have to keep it flat to surf the web

    Andrew: I am having issue swallowing the don't' hold it in my left hand issue...

    Chris: I'd hate to do that. I'll be a few minutes while I look into other solutions.

    Andrew: ok thanks Chris..
    Chris: Yeah.

    Chris: No problem.

    Chris: I'm going to check with a tier II representative to see if they have any good ideas. I'm thinking that they will say to master reset it, and if issues persist restore the firmware without restoring from a backup and see if you continue having the same problem.

    Chris: I'll be a few minutes while I check with them.

    Andrew: Ok I have done a reset and a restore by the way. I am all to familiar with the iPhone process

    Chris: So you did the restore without doing the backup and had the same problem?

    Andrew: yes no resolve

    Chris: When you did the reset, did you do the one that erases all content and data?

    Andrew: yes

    Andrew: restored phone to factory settings

    Chris: Alright. I'm waiting on a response from the tier II data support representative right now.

    Andrew: you guys getting any other data issue calls?

    Chris: Yes, but this clearly isn't a data issue. It's more of a device issue.

    Chris: Where are you holding the iPhone?

    Andrew: LOL.. Are you joking?

    Andrew: I have tried to hold it different ways

    Andrew: same result
    Andrew: i have a bumper on it as well

    Chris: Just make sure you're not holding it at the problem area which is at the lower left corner.

    Chris: Let me know if it's still not working while holding it in a position where your hand doesn't cover the lower left corner.

    Andrew: yah doesn't matter where I hold it

    Andrew: i know when i hold it at the bottom i see signal drop

    Andrew: i have full bars when I try

    Chris: Ok.

    Chris: It sounds like the problem is with the device, other people aren't having issues in the same area, so our only option is to have you contact Apple.

    Andrew: sigh. I have an appt tonight to have the phone looked at

    Chris: You've tried everything we would've had you try already.

    Chris: I apologize for the inconvenience.
    Chris: Do you have Apple's contact information?

    Andrew: Yes I have a genius appt tonight

    Andrew: i am worried even if they exchange i will have same issue with the new hardware

    Andrew: guess its my only option

    Andrew: thanks chris for your help

    Chris: No problem. Do you have any other questionstoday?
     
  2. koilvr macrumors 6502

    koilvr

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #2
    I cheated on my wife and girlfriend with my mistress. I acted the same way as the AT&T rep did with you.
     
  3. ajnicho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #3
    The guy seems very helpful to me. Why would you phone at&t if you had an appointment to see a genius?
     
  4. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #4
    and the point of this was..... ????

    Sounds like the CSR followed the script. Just like any CSR who want to keep his or her job is going to do.
     
  5. CaliKev macrumors member

    CaliKev

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I got the same scripty response yesterday over the phone. it sucks.
     
  6. hockeydude35 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #6
    Hey, OP....can you please followup on here or PM me after your appt with the Genius Bar tonight? I'm having the EXACT same issue, and I have an appt tomorrow (which i'm debating canceling). I'm just curious what they will tell you and how they will resolve this (and if they give you a new phone that doesn't have this issue). Thanks! :)
     
  7. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #7
    att is not the cause of the problem. it's apple hardware so what do you think was going to happen?
     
  8. Andru1313 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #8
    IDK in the past I have been bounced around from apple to ATT so wanted to cover my bases. I thought it was funny that they were eluding to leaving it flat on the table to get it to work.
     
  9. SlavKO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    Love how people keep saying "It's a hardware issue" or "it's AT&T's issue". Guess what, lots of customers are having the issue, and since AT&T and Apple are in a (currently) exclusive relationship, it's an issue for both. I have heard through many threads that it may be firmware, microsim, the way the iphone communicates with the towers, and that ATT may be still updating towers to work with the way the iphone works.

    Who knows, but they both have to work together to figure it out. And the only way they will is if we keep calling/scheduling appts.
     
  10. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #10
    +1
     
  11. insidmal macrumors 6502

    insidmal

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Eugene
    #11
    i love how people talk to CSRs like they actually know anything.. they literally sit in front of a computer and type what you say into a database and it tells them how to respond..
     
  12. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #12
    I had a similar experience with my phone 4 today.

    I was at a very major intersection where a highway intersects a major street. There are several cell towers very close, though I don't to whom they belong.

    I was trying to mess with my phone while my kids got haircuts. I had 5 full bars the entire time (3G). I couldn't place a call. I couldn't use data. I tried to fetch my e-mail first, and that failed. I tried a speed test and that completed with some terrible 0.04 Mb/s down / 0.02 up or something like that.

    The phone got extremely hot. I finally powered it down, then powered it back up. Perhaps I should have done a network reset but I figured the power down would do the trick. Unfortunately the phone got hot again as soon as it powered back up.

    After leaving the place I tried a call from the car and everything was fine. The signal bounced between 4 and 5 and things worked perfectly. The phone also cooled down.

    I'm not 100% sure what happened. Possibly I had apps cycling and heating the CPU while they experienced data failures? At any rate, it's pretty strange behavior since at home I can force the bars to nothing with the nifty trick but data is fine and I never drop a call (from my basement even).
     
  13. Carcaridon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #13
    I had this same issue today. I've never felt the phone this hot. With a metal phone, it was kind of interesting.
     
  14. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #14
    That's how it works. The database has the current information and the CSR knows (reads) it. This is how a company gets information to you.
     
  15. JohnnyD31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #15
    I had the same type phone call in to AT&T, but they got an AppleCare tech on the line who went further.

    Two things we tried that I had not heard before were:

    1. toggling 3G on and off for 20 seconds, ending with it on

    2. toggling airplane mode on and off for 20 seconds, ending with it off

    After each try the tech called me on my cell phone.

    After the 3G toggle trick, my call quality seemed to improve a good bit even though bars were low

    After the airplane mode toggle trick, I didn't notice a difference.

    Give it a try.

    Oh yeah, also reset network settings after the 3G toggle trick.
     

Share This Page