silence

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by cpit, Jul 16, 2009.

1. cpit macrumors newbie

I like silence. I'm not depressed; I just need a lot of silence each day to be happy and relaxed. I know someone really understands me when we can sit with each other, not talking, and have it not be awkward but just comfortable. But my parents keep interpreting it wrong (teenager here), and they think I'm trying to shut them out of my life and rebel against them by opting out of having a conversation whenever they are near me. The more silent I am, the more they ask questions, and before I know it it turns into more of an interrogation, and then there is always inevitably a huge fight about how I'm being disrespectful by not wanting to have a conversation.

Sometimes I am talkative, but they always seem to want to talk at the wrong time, like when I'm studying for a serious test or when I am running on a couple hours of sleep (which happens a lot) or when I just want to think. They don't understand that my silence is more "reflective" than some sort of teenage act of rebellion (that idea sickens me). It's part of who I am and I want to make them understand that, and maybe it's a generational thing or something, but they simply do not accept silence!

How do I make them understand? They've been punishing me and yelling at me and grounding me when all I want is some quiet! I do love them but my patience with them is seriously running out. I would open up to them more if they let me come to them instead of trying to force words out of my mouth. Out of all of the problems that people have with their kids, I really don't understand why they are tearing me apart because of it.

2. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia