Silly Question from Argentina about LCD and G3 B&W

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jms2003, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. jms2003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I´m from Argentina and while searching for information I discovered this forum.

    I have a G3 B&W (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g3/stats/powermac_g3_350_bl.html) and my old Apple monitor is dead after 15 years. Here`s my question: Can I buy a new LCD monitor or I must go for an old CRT one? I want an 20’ LCD for example buy I don`t know if it is compatible with my old mac.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #3
    Here's Apple's system profile.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP133

    The preinstalled graphics card will support any display, CRT or LCD, that has a VGA input (most do). For best results, buy a display with a native resolution matching one of those listed under 2D Display Modes on the Apple profile. Get a 4:3 display; a widescreen display such as 16:10 or 16:9 will end up squished vertically.
     
  4. Cory5412 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    a 17, 19 or 20-inch LCD in the 4:3 arrangement would work perfectly fine on the blue/white G3, although with both OS X and OS 9 you may need to use an upgraded graphics card to use a 16:9 or 16:10 aspect LCD with that system.
     
  5. jms2003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
  6. jms2003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #6
    As I saw all 20 or 22 inches LCD have resolutions over 1280x1024 that the link shows. Am I confined to an 19 inch monitor or an 20-22 will work in an acceptable way? This is the one I want to buy if it works with mi old mac :(

    http://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...samsung-2043nwx-ultimo-modelo-gtia-3-anos-_JM
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    They will be usable, but since the resolution is different from the number pixels on the display, it will be interpolating data and therefore will be somewhat fuzzy. I would really suggest getting a monitor with a native resolution that matches what your card can handle.

    As well, the display you linked is 16:10. Your card can only display 4:3 (and 3:2 in the case of the 1280x1024), so the resulting image will appear squashed.
     
  8. jms2003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #8
    Thanks again for the answer.

    Just to be sure then: I gotta get only 4:3 and 1280x1024 for best results? Like one of this

    http://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...-full-screen-43-no-wide-80001-5ms-navidad-_JM

    so I can`t get 20 or 22 inches since the resolution don`t match. Am I right?
     

Share This Page