sim card 3g check

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mac2thefuture, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. mac2thefuture macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #1
    The company I work for provides me with a phone and I've had the sim in an unlocked 1st gen iphone for the last 18 months.
    I want to buy a 3gs and would like to know if my sim card will provide me with 3g functionality. Is there a way of checking for this via the imie or some other way ( I dont want to ask 02 or my company in case they block anything).
    Thanks
     
  2. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    I'm not sure about how O2 works. But with AT&T any 3G capable sim card will work in the iPhone. It is easy to tell because AT&T has a 3G logo on their 3G-capable sim cards. You might be able to request a replacement sim card if yours won't work?
     
  3. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #3
    I want to know if my sim is 3g capable.
    Thanks
     
  4. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    Why dont you ask the phone company?
    If it isn't, why don't you 'lose' your sim-card. Most sim cards these days are 3G so a new one definately would be?

    I don't see why your company would have any objections to you changing phones if you don't like the one they provide. I've done it in the past.
     
  5. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #6
    Ok I could 'lose' the sim and get a new up to date card but would I still retain my number ?

    Thanks
     
  6. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  7. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #8
    Why not do what others have suggested. CALL YOUR PHONE COMPANY
     
  8. Fotis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #9
    Here in greece Vodafone if you have contract and no card (i don;t know how to tell it in English sorry) takes the simple sim cards and provides you with no cost with new 3g card with the same number and also transfers your contacts from your old sim card to the new. So i think that you could ask this from your provider.
     
  9. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #10
    The card is provided by the company I work for - if I ask them is my card 3g compatible they're going to wonder why I'd want to know this, and, as they pay the bill, they'd get suspicious about my questions.
    They, my company, have and make all contact with 02 in regard to bill payment etc.
     
  10. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #11
    Unless I'm missing something, the 3g functionality comes from the phone, not the sim card?

    Always seems to have been the case with me.
     

Share This Page