Sim card..prepaid?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Trinity82, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. Trinity82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #1
    The guy I bought an Iphone from left the Sim card in. I think the phone was on a contract when I bought it..:mad:
    How can I tell from the sim card if it was prepaid or on a contract??
     
  2. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Why does it matter? Just take his SIM out and put your own in.
     
  3. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #3
    I have done that. When his Bell sim card is in I dont get a "no service" signal.
    When I put in my Telus sim card I get "no service"

    What the heck is with this phone:confused:
     
  4. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Sounds like the phone itself is faulty. Give it back and get a refund.
     
  5. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #5
    I bought it from a guy online.
     
  6. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Contact him about it then. What site was it through?
     
  7. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #7
    Been told it has an unlocked baseband. So I just through it in the garbage or what?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Because its probably locked to bell so it wont accept any other carriers sims.
    Just sims from Bell.
    Get a prepaid bell sim and use it.
     
  9. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #9
    Done that. I bought a prepaid sim with Bell and when I try to activate the sim with the phone, it wont work.
     
  10. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    If it's meant to have been unlocked, it could be a jailbreak unlock was attempted and went wrong. This can brick the baseband of an iPhone permanently AFAIK. Try restoring first though.
     
  11. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #11
    I restored it last night. After the restore Cydia was still on the phone. The restore didnt really do anything.
     
  12. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Don't restore from a backup, do a complete clean restore as a new phone.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    That doesnt make any sense.
    You restored it with an official firmware with itunes and cydia was still there?
     
  14. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #14
    I went to Reset..Reset all content and settings.
     
  15. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    That's not the same thing. Go to iTunes and do a proper restore.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Plug it to itunes and hit restore. Erase all is not a restore.
    You will need a sim in order to activated after.
    Most likelly from the carrier that the phone is locked to.
     
  17. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #17
    After I restore it in Itunes, I should be able to activate the sim with the phones serial number?

    I just bought this iphone from the guy so I dont have itunes. Need to install that I guess.
     
  18. Trinity82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #18
    I restored the iphone from Itunes like suggested. It is now a Bell phone. I still cant activate the Bell sim card due to the serial number and IMEI not working.
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Call bell for help on how to activate the sim and use it on that particular phone.
     

Share This Page