Sim City 4 Deluxe - Leopard / Intel friendly?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by cwilson71, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. cwilson71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    I am a big fan of the Sim City games. Does anyone play it on the new intel iMacs with Leopard? Does it support native widescreen resolutions?
     
  2. Beric macrumors 68020

    Beric

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    I also would like to know this, as I have heard rumors of otherwise, but nothing conclusive. I have a Macbook. When SC4 first came out, it required too high of specs. But today's machines should be able to handle it, assuming no Intel/Leopard issues, of which I do not know about.
     
  3. borteniralc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    SimCity 4 is completely compatible with Intel-based Macs if you have download the patch. Without the patch the game might still work, but will most likely suffer from random crashes and problems. The patch is available at Aspyr.com, but you should also check out another great SimCity resource, SimTropolis.com. They have a good record of Mac related issues with the game and a huge catalogue of additional structures and mods that are quite useful in gameplay.
     
  4. togermano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #4
    Don't buy it! I made the mistake of buying it and runs like **** on my intel 2.4ghz computer the intel patch helped but the graphics have alot of graphic errors
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    ASPYR has updates for Universal Support, and several of the fan sites, like http://sc4devotion.com/ and http://www.simtropolis.com/ have update that is missing from the ASPYR update but was released for Windows and another update for graphic problems that newer systems may have. Also, those two sites have a lot of custom content for SC4 that add many new features, including light rail, rual interstates, prominades, and roundabouts.

    TEG
     
  6. togermano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #6
    could u give me the link where it fixes such things?
     
  7. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #7
    I went with the windows version and play it in bootcamp. The mac one was twice the cost. However this is only a good option if you're already dual booting.
     
  8. a1016neo macrumors regular

    a1016neo

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #8
    When is Sim City Societies coming out for the Mac???
     
  9. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #9
    Although it runs ok-ish on my iMac 2ghz C2D 3GB Ram, it's not great, Maxis say there's universal support with a patch they released, there really isn't much of a performance increase when you install it...

    You'd be better off buying a old Powermac G5 to run this game than run it on a intel mac...

    or, back in the real world, use the bootcamp route....
     
  10. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #10
    I bought it, and it ran pretty smooth on my 2.0GHz dual core G5 tower, but it crashed/froze every half hour or so for no reason.

    I am running it on my Penryn MBP 17" and it's actually a lot smoother and hasn't crashed yet. I run it without watching it for hours.
     
  11. ironjaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #11
    Tell you the truth

    your better off buying the PC version - its really cheap, bootcamp with Win XP and it runs like a dream.

    It runs faster and more stable, its really worth it. I tried the PowerPC Aspyr version and sold it not worth it. As a principle I don't buy ported games from such as Aspyr

    PS:
    Also get DosBox if your an oldie and like Lucas Arts games like Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Sam & Max, etc.
     
  12. mohholt06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #12
    how do i get the patch from aspyr.com?
     
  13. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #13
    You are correct is the OP has a copy of windows to install as well as other games he/she might want to play

    As of now, the Intel Macs are more than fast enough to run way old games like Sim City 4, even under rosetta.
     
  14. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #14
    Shame the mac version is so buggy it renders it useless :rolleyes:
     
  15. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #15
    You have obviously never used SC4:Deluxe Mac. It works great. The only real problem is that the Universal Binary version has some screwed up graphics due to the endianess of the values. If you need any help getting SC4 to work well on OS X, check out http://simtropolis.com or http://sc4devotion.com

    TEG
     
  16. thesmall macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #16
    ne of the finest games.. electronic arts have ever made... its a real trat to play his game.. and i play it for hours... :p
     
  17. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #17
    On the contrary that's the version I have. I find I have to save every minute or so because it will hang and crash so often.

    It was the single game that put me off gaming on my Mac. Which is a shame as I loved SC4 on my PC.
     

Share This Page