Sim not supported

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by x_ch, Apr 1, 2017.

  1. x_ch macrumors newbie

    x_ch

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    #1
    Hello,

    " Sim not supported " message when i try to put an Australian SIM card (just moved here last week) Iphone was bought in Belgium and was working perfectly, went to the apple store they checked if it was locked and it says IS UNLOCKED, tried to contact my company in Belgium and they told me they don't lock iphones in Belgium and checked with the serial number ans IMEI and is not lock..

    Apple Genius try many things and can't understand why is not working...

    Restore my iphone about 10 times in the past few days, tried others sim card from australia, reseting phone and nothing

    any ideas? [​IMG]

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ericwn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #2
    The Genius strikes me as new to the job. It sounds as if the phone is locked from that error message. They should escalate internally and not give you the phone back without a resolution. Try calling AppleCare if Retail is unable to do it.
     
  3. jetsam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    #3
    Yes, the "SIM not supported" error indicates the phone is carrier locked. The "Genius" is, uh, "confused." If the phone was purchased in Belgium, and Belgium forbids carrier locking, then the problem is Apple's. Call them, and be prepared to insist the issue be escalated.

    There have been several threads here lately from people whose phones were not properly unlocked by Apple.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Yes, for some reason that iPhone is not unlocked.
    Contact the store you bought it or Apple support.
     
  5. SSAJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    #5
    Ur must iPhones antenna be CDMA or GSM and sim ur trying with must be the opposite of ur phones antenna
     
  6. msp3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    #6
    Make sure you're connected to Wi-Fi/internet when you insert the new SIM, the your iPhone needs to check its lock/unlock status at Apple's activation servers...
     
  7. ericwn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #7
    That makes zero sense.
     
  8. x_ch thread starter macrumors newbie

    x_ch

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    #8
    Thanks for all the replies..
    Went back to a different apple store, and same.. nobody can help, they said the same when they check with the serial number and IMEI that is UNLOCKED, and in Belgium they keep telling the same that it should work blah blah...

    Msp3, yes is connected to the wifi every time i tried the sim card

    Going to try the Apple Care and try another apple store and if nobody can help i'll just forget about iphones and buy a new phone can't stay like that for long o_O
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    I dont get how the Apple store is sitting there telling you its unlocked but it shows sim not supported on the screen.
    That doesnt make sense cause its obviously not unlocked.
    They should be able to see what carrier that device is locked to because its obviously not unlocked.
    They should either unlock it or replace it with an unlocked device for you.
     
  10. x_ch thread starter macrumors newbie

    x_ch

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    #10
    I can't understand neither, they just keep saying that when they check with the serial number it says UNLOCKED but something is wrong and that they can't do anything else.. Apple and my company in Belgium they can't do anything (as they said)
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    That sucks that they're not willing to help you out and they're just saying its unlocked when its not.
    They didn't even bother replacing it and giving you another device that is really unlocked?
     
  12. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #12
    Have you tried to put in another sim? Say an American one from a colleague or friend or heck one of the Apple Store employees...just to test and see if it is the phone or it is your sim.

    If no one else's sim is working then obviously the problem lies with the phone and not your sim. Saying the sim is not compatible aka not supported does NOT mean that the phone is locked. The genius can't have it "confused" even if he or her is new because the system says unlocked or locked...unless they have trouble reading...

    I'm guessing the issue is your sim but we won't know until you try out other folks sim in that phone or/and try your Australian sim in an American unlocked phone.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Yes, always good to try another sim card to rule out that part also.
     
  14. x_ch thread starter macrumors newbie

    x_ch

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    #14
    they said they can't replace it, as i bought in Belgium it has to be replace in Belgium
    I call the apple support, the guy told me is lock to my carrier in Belgium (also he told me that 2 minutes after he asked the name of my carrier i, Belgium, then he just said it was locked with them)
    And the carrier in Belgium keep saying they don't lock phones... I'll buy a new one it's been 3 weeks now i can't stay longer like that.
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Apr 10, 2017 ---
    I tried 4 differents Australian sims and it's not working the only one working is my Belgian sim card :/
     

Share This Page