SimCity 2013 will it work on my MacBook Pro 2009 in Windows 7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by melman101, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey all,

    Does anyone know if Simcity 2013 will work on my Macbook Pro 2009 in Windows 7? I have the 13" MacbookPro5,5

    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53ghz with NVIDIA 9400M 256mb Video card.

    Thanks for all your help
     
  2. mrapplegate, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013

    mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    You should be fine.
    What system specs are you targeting with the Mac version?
    Like the PC version, we are aiming to make the game as accessible as possible. Any user with Snow Leopard and a Core 2 processor will be able to enjoy SimCity for Mac.


    http://www.simcity.com/en_US/faq

    I still think you should be fine even though you will run it on Windows 7
     
  3. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #3
    Really? No discrete GPU needed? I remember Sim City 4 bringing my PC to it's knees back in the day. Once my city became somewhat large the game was nearly unplayable.

    I was thinking that I wouldn't even be able to play it with the Intel 4000 in my 2012 MBP...
     
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    I've read a lot on twitter and reddit and they have designed this game to run fine on a base system.
     
  5. melman101 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
  6. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    Why are you wanting to run it in Windows 7 and not the Mac version on your Mac? Because you're also running it on another PC?

    If it becomes available on steam you ought to look into buying it through there instead of EA (though it might not be, EA is trying to push it's origin pretty hard). With steam, if you buy a Windows PC game, and there's a Mac version, you can download the Mac version to the Mac version of Steam!
     
  7. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #7
    Only games that are "Steamplay" enabled. Many are not.

    Also, considering that EA just released an Origin client for Mac, you're probably gonna have to buy it there.
     
  8. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #8
    Yeah.. which I'm not a fan of (the origin part). Origin is okay but Steam is far better, but EA I guess can make more money from origin. And sell games that have multiple expansions to buy ON launch day... and then a few months later more expansions and more ways to grub money...

    Their DLC of-late has been as bad as freemium games on iOS, except that you pay $60+ for the game!
     
  9. melman101 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #9
    The problem is, it's not coming out same day on the Mac as it is on the PC. I don't want to wait, LOL ;-).
     
  10. Beecker macrumors member

    Beecker

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Wait I thought it was going to be launched the same day as Windows.
     
  11. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #11
    It was supposed to be on the same day. It has been delayed. Their PR statement basically said since it is not a port it is taking longer and they want to get it right.
    Bottom line if you want to play March 5 then buy the PC version and use bootcamp.
     
  12. Beecker macrumors member

    Beecker

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    Well thanks and crap. Guess i will bootcamp Windows.
     
  13. melman101 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #13
    Which brings me back to the original question, do you think I'm good in bootcamp? :)
     
  14. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #14
    Yes.
     
  15. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    I would just get the Mac version unless you have any other reason to get Windows.
     
  16. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #16
    Wait, so the Mac version isn't just a cider wrapper port? It's actually written in native OS X code?

    That is... ****ing awesome if true.
     
  17. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #17
    If you look at the FAQ you will see it is not a port but native OS X.
    http://www.simcity.com/en_US/faq

    Why is the Mac port launching later?
    This isn’t a Mac port, but a full native version that runs on the Mac OS. Because of this, we want to take the time to ensure that Mac fans will get a version worthy of their platform.
     
  18. beavisqueef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #18
    It's still going to lag on a 2009 machine. Even though it's not the most graphically intensive game, the improvements in AI will tax the CPU, and large cities will require a good computer to render. However, it will be more fault tolerant than most games to lag a bit so it should be okay.
     
  19. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #19
    Wow. Outside of Blizzard and Valve, you don't see that much anymore.

    Awesome.
     
  20. The.Walrus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #20
    Wow, I had no idea it was a native Mac client either! That's great news!

    I'll happily wait past launch day for this.
     
  21. melman101 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #21
    I will only consider buying the PC version if I get the Mac version as well on Origin. I believe I heard that rumor.
     
  22. spyrmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #22
    i have an early 2009 iMac 2.93 ghz core 2 duo
    8gb ram
    nvidia gt 120 256 mb ram

    will it run ?

    how does my gt 120 256 mb
    compares to the NVIDIA 9400M 256mb ?

    (would it be ok to open a new thread or will i be bothering you too much ? )
     
  23. spyrmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #23


    it's not confirmed but even if it is it will not apply to the disc version
    only the digital download .
    which is more expensive than the disk !
     

Share This Page