SimCity 4 PPC Very Slow Performance

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LOLZpersonok, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    I recently got a copy of SimCity 4 for Mac OS X 10.4. Since my Power Mac far surpasses the minimum requirements, I figured it should run quite admirably. But, it's far from it. It's really sad since the game performs better on my less powerful Celeron based Dell Latitude. The game is especially slow in larger, more populous cities.

    If it helps, I got SimCity 4 Deluxe for Mac. My Power Mac is a Dual 1.25GHz based system with 2GB of RAM and ATi Radeon 9000 Pro graphics. I'm also running the game on lowest graphics settings and a 1080p monitor, but the game does not run at that resolution, but Mac OS X does.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Try using a smaller monitor if you have one. It may sound a bit outlandish, but worth a shot for testing purposes.
     
  3. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #3
    I think I should try that, I have a monitor with a 1024x768 resolution, and I do find that OS X performs a bit better on this monitor.

    Never thought of it until you brought it back up.
     
  4. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #4
    You find Osx performs better at the lower resolution????
    What??
    Did I miss something there?? Mate it's a desktop, not a fully fledged 3d game ordeal.

    Cheers
     
  5. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    The Mac version of SC4 is just an inherently badly optimised port - it runs agonisingly slow on my G4 as well. (Dual 1.33 GHz, 2GB memory, ATi Radeon 9800XT 256MB)
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6

    My G5 stutter on some graphical applications with dual displays connected and I have an ATI Radeon 9600 XT with 128 MB of VRAM. It is simply the strain on the GPU being relieved by driving less pixels.
     
  7. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #7
    Can you expand a little on what you just said? I ran 2 displays also on my pmg5 with an x800 mac card and never had these issues. Esp on the desktop. Sure you can get tearing and jaggies in a 3d game if you've selected more options than your hardware will allow for, but I've never seen issues on the desktop. I also had a crappy fx5200 and the desktop wax fine with that. Don't ask about 3 d games with that card though ;)
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    When the GPU and CPU are getting taxed you will see it like video editing.
     
  9. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    I tried The Lord of the Rings return of the king game on my late 2005 DC PMG5. I got about 2-3 frames per second...
     

Share This Page