Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jassz39

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 21, 2013
I guess it might be a dumb question to ask here. I'm still new to the ios system.

For example, when my facebook app is opening on my ipad mini,

does hitting the home button means I completely close the facebook app

Or just a temporarily closing, that has lots of programming still running behind?:eek:

charlituna

macrumors G3
Jun 11, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
I guess it might be a dumb question to ask here. I'm still new to the ios system.

Or just a temporarily closing, that has lots of programming still running behind?:eek:

First off, get the phrase "might be a dumb question" out your vocabulary. That phrase is utterly annoying. You're a newbie, nothing to be ashamed of, so no more apologizing for it

To answer the actual question, the second is correct. When you return to the home screen the apps don't quit. They go into a kind of hibernation mode (or should) where some aspects might still running in the background. If they are depends on the app. This is important to know since those bits and pieces running in the background can drain your battery if there are a lot of them and/or they are running a lot. An example of this might be a website that uses location services (ie can see where you are). When you 'sleep' Safari the website might still be updating your location every few seconds. You might need to force quit Safari to make it stop.

TJ61

macrumors 6502a
Nov 16, 2011