Simple Photoshop/graphic design help

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Underthemoonicp, Mar 7, 2014.

  1. Underthemoonicp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    #1
    Hi I have a question on how to make a simple change using Gimp or Photoshop. I have 6 screens (could only upload 5) with the arrows going down the right side. Within that same layout I'm trying to make it so there are 7 arrows equally spaced apart. Could anyone offer advice on how to accomplish this? Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. filmbufs macrumors 6502

    filmbufs

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #2
    There are many ways to do one thing in PS but the first thing that came to my mind was to make a selection around the arrow portion that you want and create six more layers (use comman + J on a mac.) Use a mask to conceal any unwanted info (if any.)

    Then, using your move tool, slide them down the right side wherever you want them to be. Use the ruler tool to be precise or the align feature to evenly space them out.
     
  3. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #3
    Establish your starting and ending points.

    Measure distance in pixels between those two points.

    divide that number by five.
     
  4. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #4
    The easiest way to do this would be to take your Rectangular Marquee Tool and highlight over the arrow area and then right click and Layer Via Copy. Then click on that new Layer and CMD+J five more times which will create five more of this same Layer. Go to your Move Tool. Then just turn off all but layer 2 and align it where it needs to be. Then turn on layer 3 and align it into position. Remember that each time you turn a layer on, your new arrow will be sitting in the exact same position as the original layer 2 arrow was, so you may not think you turned it on but it is there and once you put your cursor over it and click+hold+drag you will see it move off the other one. And so on till all arrows are in position. When all arrows are in position, then turn all layers back on and you have what you need. I have included some screen shots to show you.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bertrude macrumors member

    Bertrude

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Another quick way way would be be to have all arrow bits on separate layers, get the first and last one positioned correctly, select all arrow layers and click the distribute vertical centers button - all selected layers will then be evenly spaced apart.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page