Simple (probably) aperture question

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by stefmesman, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    so. i have just moved all my photos into aperture and cleaned up the mess i had. now my question is. Where does aperture leave your photos? does it use reference files? or does it make copies? Is it safe to delete photo's from my main harddisc without screwing my photo organisation up?

    cheers!
     
  2. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
  3. stefmesman, Mar 15, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011

    stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    I read both the files, i understand. But how can i see how my pictures where imported? I already had folders with pictures that i just dragged into the library. I cant recal seeing anything like referenced or managed masters?

    thanks :)

    (edit) in the import settings it is set as ''Store files: in the aperture library''
     
  4. AxisOfBeagles macrumors 6502

    AxisOfBeagles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    East of Shangrila
    #4
    "(edit) in the import settings it is set as ''Store files: in the aperture library'' "

    Which means that Aperture has created masters in it's own library; and is not referencing your original files for it's masters.

    Personally I do both; I have Aperture manage in the Aperture library - but I still keep all my original files as backups - AND I have backups of those on yet another drive.
     
  5. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    can i make my aperture library on an NAS for my imac? but at the same time have a referenced master for my macbook from my NAS?

    i dont know if im explaining this right haha
     
  6. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    That's explained in the first link.

    In Aperture 3 I think that they may have changed it to "Located Referenced Files...". Still under the File menu though.
     

Share This Page