Simple question about partitioning

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Kahnyl, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    Is it possible to create a partition, then install Lion on it, and, from that new partition, delete the original one?
     
  2. Goober0311 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #2
    good question? While we are on that topic, I did a time machine on an external before installing Lion. Can I plug that external in and do another time machine or will it over write my Snow Leopard. I am asking will I lose SL if I do another TM back up on the same external. Not trying to high jack your thread Kahnyl.
     
  3. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #3
    Yes. Been there. Done that. I don't remember for sure but I think it deleted the Recovery HD as well.
     
  4. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    The recovery partition is hidden so you must have done more than a simple partition manipulation .
     
  5. saulinpa, Sep 24, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011

    saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #5
    Lion's Disk Utility tries to make it easy but here's the sequence that I think fails.

    1 - Normal install of Lion on drive creates Recovery HD
    2 - Split Lion partion in two - DU moves Recovery HD between visible partitions.
    3 - Install Lion on 2nd partition - it doesn't create a Recovery HD since one already exists on drive.
    4 - Delete 1st partition - DU removes Recovery HD as well.

    I will give it a try and report back.

    ----update---- Tried it and installing Lion in 2nd partition does create a second Recovery HD. So deleting the 1st partition also deletes the corresponding Recovery HD so leaves the 2nd one fine. Then creating a new first partition and then copying the 2nd Lion to it also recreates a Recovery HD for it. Apple did a good job on this and covered all of the bases. I must have screwed up something else the last time I tried this.




    ----------

    Both Lion and SL are supposed to ask before doing anything with an existing TM backup. Just to be sure you can re-name your Mac which will force it to save to a different directory leaving the existing alone.
     
  6. Goober0311 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

Share This Page