Simple Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Chiny, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. Chiny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    I'm on 3.0.1, I'll be creating a custom ipsw w/ my friends Mac. Know is the custom ipsw a tethered J/B were I have to always be by a computer to download from the phone and respring? If so I may not waste my time. BUt if not let me know. I'm going to 3.1.2 I have a 3gs since the first month it came out if that makes a difference..:D
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    since

    your not week 41/42 build you should have no issues enjoy! :D
     
  3. Chiny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #3
    What does week 41/42 mean, I'm not in the loop?
     
  4. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    Only the most recent iPhones (after week 41 or 42 of 2009) have been released with a new bootloader which requires that the iPhone be connected to a computer with Blackra1n to reboot if the phone happens to die or be reset for any reason. This is known as a "tethered jailbreak".

    Since you got your phone when it was first released, it will have the old bootloader which has been cracked by Geohot (the developer of Blackra1n/sn0w).
     
  5. Chiny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #5
    Okay so I'll set it up and see what happens, Thanks to All who informed me.
     
  6. Chiny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
  8. Chiny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #8
    Well the up grade went smooth but the carrier name is missing, now is there a patch in cydia for this or is their something else I have to do?
     
  9. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #9
    If you search MRoogle for "missing carrier logo" then you'll find solutions to get it back
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Install ultrasn0w. It is the DevTeam's unlocking solution, and it recently added a feature to reenable the carrier logo. It shouldn't hurt anything to unlock with untrasn0w, even if you are on an official carrier.
     
  11. Chiny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #11
    Did the ultrasn0w and still nothing, maybe its just one of those things, I use the at&t carrier hack and because of the missing carrier It doesn't show. So I'm just alittle disappointed. So I tried MIM and put my own personal carrier name, just doesn't feel the same:(
     

Share This Page