Simple RAM question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by boynigel, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. boynigel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    i have a mid 2007 20" intel imac core 2 duo. how/where can i find out how much RAM capacity it has? i THINK it has 4GB capacity but want to be sure before i order. currently have two 1GB sticks in it. would like to move up to a total of 4GB if possible.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    :apple: > About This Mac > More Info... > System Profiler opens

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    4GB is possible in the 2007 Aluminium iMac.
     
  3. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    is it still a white iMac or Aluminum iMac
    both are sold in 2007
    the white one takes max 4gb unofficially (sold up to august )

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac-core-2-duo-2.16-20-inch-specs.html

    the aluminium takes max 6 gb unofficially( sold from august)

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac-core-2-duo-2.0-20-inch-aluminum-specs.html
     
  4. boynigel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #5
    thanks. that's where i went in the first place but it only told me what i have currently, rather than potential capacity...unless i wasn't paying attention and missed it. mine is a silver model, so i think i got my answer which is "yes, it will take 4GB". (6GB unofficially?)
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
  6. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    yes your silver one is a aluminium iMac and can take unofficially 6gb ,
    1x2gb and 1x4 gb
    apple says 4gb max, but some people have tried it and it works with 6gb
    and now everyone does max out to 6gb if he knows about it ;)

    its like my eMac officially it can only take 1gb , but it happily takes 2gb :D

    OSX wants ram more then anything else , and the more you give it the better it performs
     

Share This Page