Sims 2 and MacBook Air

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Erhama, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. Erhama macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #1
    I've recently installed The Sims 2(All EPs and All SPs) and all graphics are at low and this is the result,

    [​IMG]


    Now what do I do, do I take my MacBook Air to a Mac specialist to chhange the Motherboard/Graphics Card?:(
     
  2. DarthTreydor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #2
    Here are your options:

    1. Give up on doing anything on your air other than web browsing, iTunes, etc.

    Or

    2. Buy a real computer, not a toy.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I'm going to have to agree with the previous poster when it comes to gaming on the MacBook Air. Playing Sims 2 on the MacBook can be a challenge as well.

    Not to mention you're playing the game in Parallels and not natively in OS X or Windows.
     
  4. Erhama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #4
    Sorry to say, but the MacBook Air is a computer, it's got everything a computer basically needs.
     
  5. DarthTreydor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    So does a g3 iBook but I wouldn't spend $1700 on one.
     
  6. MOFS macrumors 65816

    MOFS

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #6
    Oi! Don't diss me iBook!:p;)

    Back to the OP, I do notice a few things...

    1) Why are you running so many programs? Try closing iTunes (big CPU hog IMHO) and Safari as well as that "A" one (dunno what that is).

    2) Have you tried buying the Mac version? Should be cheap now and at least you won't have to run Windows just to play the Sims.
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    So what's your problem? :confused:
     
  8. Erhama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #8
    I want to play sims smoothly, and the pixels and graphics are a big deal for me.


    And I've wasted lots of money on the EPs and SPs, so I don't want to waste more money for the Mac types, and the Mac doesn't have the IKEA Stuff Pack, so should I use my old Dell with a new HD or should I just format the bugged HD?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Sadly that's not what the MacBook Air excels at.

    It depends on the video card in the old Dell. What still surprises me is that you want to run Sims 2 via Parallels and not in Boot Camp. You might be able to pull off a few medium settings at 1024 x 768.
     
  10. MOFS macrumors 65816

    MOFS

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #10
    Well here's your problem...

    link

    Your Macbook Air probably has a 1.6GHz processor - below the MINIMUM requirements for running Sims 2 under Windows - now wonder you're struggling. This laptop just isn't designed for what you're trying to do with it.
     
  11. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #11
    I would say that the real problem is not the fact that the Macbook Air has less then 2.0 Ghz processor but that it doesn't have dedicated graphics. X3100 graphics aren't going to give you that great results.

    To the OP: I would suggest running it in Bootcamp to get better results since running it in Parallels isn't going to give you that great results.
     
  12. ninewhereman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #12
    To be fair the air has a C2D which is above the minimum specs easily.

    What I still don't understand is why you would by a Macbook Air and then worry about graphics. This whole thread confuses me.
     
  13. MOFS macrumors 65816

    MOFS

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #13
    Well I think thats part of the bigger issue as to what the Macbook Air is for. IMHO its a replacement for a computer for on the move with a more powerful one at home. Its not a complete system in itself - more of a Duo without a specified dock.
     
  14. Jak3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #14
    I you got sims 2 running on the air, I wouldn't really care about graphics so much as it works!!

    Seriously, if you care about graphics, you should have went with a macbook pro or an iMac, or heck a dedicated gaming rig running windows!:eek:
     
  15. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #15
    Well, first of all if you care about games you shouldn't have bought a computer with integrated graphics card and CPU that is throttling itself down when under load.

    Secondly, virtualization sucks for 3D gaming, so use BootCamp. This will at least give you the best framerate your hardware is capable of.
     
  16. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #16
    wow, I'm surprised you even got it running. but like everyone else has already said, playing a game like that through parallels is going to be nearly impossible, on top of that, the MBA isn't the most powerful system so basically the odds are against you. The Dell just might be your best bet (assuming it isn't ancient).
     

Share This Page