sims 2 performance is bad on intel macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by steviereeves, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. steviereeves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi there
    i have an intel macbook 2GHz processor 512mb, 667MHz ddr2 sdram running tiger 10.4.11. I have sims 2 along with 4 expansion packs (open for business, university, nightlife and pets) and i have only a few bits of custom content installed and it runs annoyingly slow i can barely play it.

    i have put all the game settings to their lowest and makes no difference, is it all the expansion packs slowing it down or what?

    i have tried not having a lot of furniture or a lot of information in one screen but again no difference.

    if there is anything you think i can do to speed it up please let me know because it is unplayable right now

    thank you
    stevie
     
  2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    Sorry but it's the computer itself. I'm assuming it's a White MacBook you have. If so the graphics card isn't powerful enough for it.
     
  3. steviereeves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #3
    ah that sucks, i have tried so many things such as the latest patch, the vSync cheat, and i have over 20 GB of space. is there any way i can get my computer faster?
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    The Intel GMA950 is not supported by The Sims 2. It's simply not powerful enough to run the game at a playable level.

    There's nothing that can make your computer handle it better.
     
  5. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    You guys are aware he's talking about the Sims 2 right?
     
  6. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    That still does not really matter. The older Macbook still is a bit too slow for the Sims 2 GPU wise, the CPU is more than enough.

    That 512mb of RAM is not helping matters any. You may get some boost by upping the RAM though don't expect too much. Just for day to day use upping the RAM will be a big improvement for your laptop.
     
  7. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #7
    Exactly... you sure you guys aren't talking about Sims 3 that came out yesterday?
     
  8. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    Since you have an Intel MacBook, are you sure that you have installed the Sims 2 Intel patches? The Sims 2 was made for PowerPC, so if you have an Intel Mac, you must install the Intel patches for the game, along with all the expansion packs.

    That could be another reason why it's running really slow.
     
  9. coronel mustard macrumors member

    coronel mustard

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Standish, England
    #9

Share This Page