Sims 3 on a Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Hill, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. Hill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Basically I upgraded from a 4 year old black MacBook to a 13 inch MacBook Pro about 3 months ago, and I am having a bit of trouble with the Sims 3. I got the game about 2 months ago, and it worked fine for ages until now. The sims don't render, they constantly look like naked people but tiny bits of colour from the clothes flicker. I can upload some screenshots if that would help.

    These are the specs of my MacBook Pro:

    Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2 (11C74)

    I would've thought that with these specs I shouldn't be having these problems?

    Any ideas what I can do, what the best Sims 3 settings would be? I have Advanced Rendering on.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    The problem isn't with the computer, it's probably a corrupted file somewhere.
     
  3. Hill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Well I have uninstalled it and re-installed as well as deleting all custom content... I know there are a lot of people experiencing these problems...

    What would you suggest?
     
  4. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    I have the same laptop and have been having the same issues. Turns out that Apple made some changes to the Intel HD 3000 drivers in 10.7.2 which has messed up The Sims 3 for a lot of people. EA has yet to acknowledge the issue even though there is a 16-page topic thread on official Sims 3 forums.

    The only solutions so far are to downgrade to Mac OS X Lion 10.7.1 or wait until EA releases a patch and pray the issue is fixed. :(
     
  5. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #5
    I mentioned this to Mrs. DewGuy1999 who plays The Sims 3 on a PC and she asked me "Did they try deleting the cache files?"
     
  6. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    I personally have tried going as far as completely deleting everything (losing all my data :( ) and reinstalling from scratch. The only thing that solves this issue is running on Mac OS X 10.7.1 or earlier (not an option for people who use iCloud) or installing Windows via Boot Camp and running it under that (not an option for people who don't already have a copy of Windows).

    My personal opinion is that the Cider virtualization technology is the root of this issue.
     
  7. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    That doesn't bode well for Mrs. DewGuy1999 who is considering getting a Mac mini for her everyday stuff (email, web browsing, writing) and The Sims 3.
     
  8. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #8
    I have the sims 3 running on a 2006 Macbook Pro. Honestly, I feel like 7.1 was a rush job, and when 7.3 is out, things will be back to working.
     

Share This Page