Sims 3 on MBP / 9600M GT

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MacAndy74, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Just wondering. How well does Sims 3 run for you, assuming you have it :)

    Are there specific optimized settings that should be used on a MBP with 9600M GT?

    I was quite surprised how cruddy Sims 3 looked and worked for me. Performance wasn't great and the 'jaggies' are amazingly ugly too.

    Just wondering that's all. :eek:
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It should work OK for you :confused:

    I tested Battlefield 2142 in my iMac it was perfect. Everything on high and zero lag. Maybe a patch will solve your problem
     
  3. komiothebeat macrumors 6502

    komiothebeat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    #3
    when i played it on my MBP i was suprised... this game still looked to be in beta because it didnt look like the game was as polished as it previous numbers :p, it was def a waste of the 50 dollars... :-/ just my opinion tho,

    oh and im on the ump with the 9600/9400 also
     
  4. King Mook Mook macrumors 6502

    #4
    Runs Like Butter!

    Hi,
    I have the MBP 17" Unibody (2.93 GHz and 4GB RAM) and I installed the game in Windows as I heard it ran better there, and when I put it on 1920 x 1200 (native res) it ran really well! It surprised me as I thought I would have to turn it down but in 1920 x 1200 it ran like butter! I can't speak for the game in OS X but its performance should be about equal. Very good spend of $50!
    Hope this helps,
    King Mook Mook

    P.S. Maybe the reason it doesn't run well for you is because you have it installed in OS X?
     
  5. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Thanks gang! :cool:

    Seems the port of Sims3 for Mac is very plain. As much as I hate to install Windows on my MBP - I'm going to have to do it, so I can play Sim3 the way it should be. :(
     
  6. joeyt11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #6
    Sims 3 on 2.4 Uni MBP

    Hi,

    Put sims 3 on my 2.4 Uni MBP and even on the 9400 it runs clean though I haven't pushed it past the stock settings (4x3) medium detail. But it runs noticably cleaner and smoother than Sims 2.
     
  7. wakka092 macrumors 6502

    wakka092

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    The Transgaming port sucks. No anti-aliasing and the graphics quality is bad (overall.) Go with Boot Camp and it should run much better than on the Mac side.
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Running on a MBP 15" 2.93, 9600 512mb, 4GB

    1440x900, settings on max other than lots which is set halfway.

    Runs great.

    Though runs a lot better in bootcamp ;)
     
  9. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Just installed and started playing on my 2.2GHz SR MBP this evening.

    After roughly three hours of gameplay, it seemed to run just fine, despite some crazy fan revs and a scorching GPU temp.
     
  10. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    And there is still no word from EA on anti-aliasing. Going to Bootcamp Windows XP and see if Sims3 is more playable then.
     
  11. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11

    Yeah I noticed this too.... It does indeed get the fans going full blast and the machine becomes very hot indeed......

    Strangely Spore (EA/Maxis) doesn't cause the same trouble...
     
  12. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #12
    I'm hijacking this thread, but not totally! I don't have The Sims 3 yet nor the 9600, but I can tell you that Spore on the ATI x1600 is a little laggy at times. It really doesn't want to run at 1680x1050, and it's just OK at about 1280x720. This is the unfortunate part of getting my computer 5 weeks before a refresh, but I NEEDED it then and didn't frequent this place yet.

    But hey, the game runs and I don't have to deal with Windows or a PC box. I own a Wii, so I'm hardly a graphics snob. If I really wanted a game to look good, I probably would've bought a PS3.
     
  13. matthewscott661 macrumors 6502

    matthewscott661

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    I run Sims 3 perfectly on my MacBook 2GHZ w/ 9400M. I just used whatever settings were in place when the game was installed and it works fantastically. Does get pretty hot after a while, though.
     
  14. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Fantastically... on a 9400M? What settings are you using? Is Sims3 running at native res? For me Sims 3 runs OK but not great on my MBP. Yet on boot camp it runs great under Windows. So I blame the crusty port.
     
  15. matthewscott661 macrumors 6502

    matthewscott661

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    I haven't changed any of the settings, so whatever the standards are. And it really does run great.

    Although, I've never run it on another computer, and my last computer was an iBook G3 900MHz, so my idea of 'great' or 'fantastic' bay be slightly skewed.
     

Share This Page