Sims 3 Questions

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by SopranoZone, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. SopranoZone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    Question 1:

    Are there any ways or shortcuts to make Sims 3 run faster? Runs WAY slow.

    Question 2:

    Obviously, have it installed. However, I cannot get any download items to work. I heard somewhere that items downloaded (including the free town available when you purchase the game) cannot work on mac computers. Is this true? If so, any word of when they're going to fix this?
     
  2. CPrider09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #2
    Ok, need to clarify:

    1. What system are you running and please give specs

    2. Did you get the 1.1 update?
     
  3. SopranoZone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #3
    Running Leopard OS X 10.5.7

    And yes, I do have the update.
     
  4. MaxMichael macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #4
    RAM? CPU? Graphics Card? etc.
     
  5. Advil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    Hi I have this same question. I'm running a UMBP 2.4 with 4 gigs of ram and using the "Better Performance" option so I can use my video card. Even with all the settings on the lowest possible I get like 17 FPS max which is the same as when I had the settings all on High.

    I have the update and am running 10.5.7 as well.
     
  6. Andrew D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    I'm running it with 4GB, everything updated/upgraded and I still had to bring the settings down.. I'm guessing it's because your not just controlling your house and lot anymore.. it's the whole town itself.. haha!
     
  7. Wolf Gang macrumors newbie

    Wolf Gang

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #7
    Correct Version?...

    Make sure you are running 10.5.7 Leopard... If you are running anything lower it might slow down and lag just a bit. If so update a.s.a.p.
     
  8. MaxMichael macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #8
    I'm really confused as to why this happens for you guys. I have a 2007 2.5GHz Intel iMac and with only 1GB I get smooth 20-40fps. :confused:
     
  9. mr.diego macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #9
    i downloaded the free town and it works fine :D
     
  10. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #10
    If you install and run the game in Windows using Boot Camp you will get a huge performance boost for two reasons:

    • The Mac port is shoddy and is far worse than the other two Mac Sims games.
    • Windows graphics drivers are way, way superior to those included with OS X.
     

Share This Page