OS X Sims Complete collection on mac with Yosemite. HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Toddorndorff890, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. Toddorndorff890 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #1
    Alright guys I'm new to the forum so please work with me lol. I bought the sims complete collection the other day to relive some childhood memories. I had it for pc back in the day but I obviously have a mac now. So I got the Mack version. Right now I'm running Yosemite. And I know it won't work because it's such an old game. Plus I keep getting a message saying the ppc is supported. Or whatever the message is. I've also read that there are ways around it. So what I need from someone is the exact step by step to do this. I don't really use the Mac for anything other than getting on the internet so the sky is the limit. Even if there's something I can download to alter it to make it work. I want the easiest step by step to get this game working. Even if that means downgrading from Yosemite or some way to to have Yosemite and an older update to make it work. I don't care what it takes lol. So ANYTHING you guys know that I can do and are willing to lend a hand I would really really appreciate it. Thanks and take care guys.
     
  2. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    Unless your Mac originally came with OS X Snow Leopard (10.6), you're going to be out of luck.

    Your best bet would be to obtain a copy of the Windows version of the game, a copy of Windows itself, and then install that through either Boot Camp or in a virtual machine with Parallels.
     
  3. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #3
    This (as I am aware) is your only option Todd.

    Before you ask, unfortunately we dont have any plans to update Complete the way we did Sims 2. Its simply too old at this point.
     
  4. Toddorndorff890 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #4
    I believe it did come with that. But I've read there are ways to get snow leopard and older software(s) that you can get to work on here just to play the older games. Just not sure which software I have to download to make it work with what I have right now. People have talked about it all over the web, just didn't put any in depth details about it. And Blair, would I be able to possibly get a copy of the PC version in exchange for my Mac one at all? I bought it off eBay so I'm going to doubt it but worth a shot.
     
  5. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #5
    If you were reading about things like Wine and Crossover, those are applications that allow Windows programs to run on a Mac. That would be another viable option instead of using Parallels and a full installation of Windows. Again, though, this would require the Windows version of whatever game you want to play.

    If there's some formula you find for getting a native Mac application that was designed for older OS X operating systems to run on a modern machine, please post it, as I think a lot of other people here would love to know.
     
  6. Fnord macrumors member

    Fnord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #6
    I have not done this but I believe it's possible to install Snow Leopard Server (or just Snow Leopard, though I'm not sure about the licensing) inside Parallels or VMware Fusion.

    I think that's the only way to get older OS X software running on hardware that can't boot into Snow Leopard.
     
  7. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #7
    I would happily do this, but we are only the publisher for the Mac version and have no access to the PC version.
     
  8. Toddorndorff890 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #8
    Fnord do you have any idea on how to do that? Like step by step? Each time I try to do anything using VMware or anything like that it either doesn't download right or or it's more complicated than it really needs to be. ::mad:
     
  9. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #9
    Have you considered the Sims 2 that Aspyr recently released on the Mac App Store to have some Sims fun with? This would "just work" and cost a lot less than buying a Parallels or VMware license. You can skip the headaches and expense and go straight to some fun. Just a suggestion.
     
  10. Toddorndorff890 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #10
    Could any of you tell me how to run Snow Leopard with Virtual Box? If so, would I be able to play the game that way?:(
     
  11. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #11
    If your mac can run snow leopard you can create a second partition and boot up in Snow Leopard to play the sims. What year & model is your mac?
     
  12. Toddorndorff890 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #12
    I have a MacBook Pro 13 inch early 2011.

    2.3 GHz Intel Core i5.

    Intel HD Graphics 3000 383 MB

    ----------

    I mean honestly, I'll do whatever it takes. VMware, virtual box etc. I just need to know the steps on how to get it to work (knock on wood) if it will work. :rolleyes:
     
  13. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #13
    I can't be sure but if it is early 2011 it probably originally came with Snow Leopard? If so you can install Snow Leopard on separate partition and boot up. SL install DVD cost about $25 on Apple Store

    I have never tried virtual machine but you need plenty of RAM. Snow Leopard should be able to run on virtualbox but don't think it will install with other virtual machines.

    I think Lion came out late 2011.

    Hopefully someone with more experience can help you.
     
  14. quackers82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #14
    This.

    I loved the Sims and the Sims 2 was just enhancements and the best version IMO, it did not get ruined until The Sims 3.

    So if you loved The Sims, The Sims 2 will not disappoint.
     
  15. Fnord macrumors member

    Fnord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #15
    I still have Macs that can boot into Snow Leopard, so haven't had to try it yet. I did buy a copy of Snow Leopard Server so I can when it eventually becomes necessary. I hope what you need is in one of the threads below:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1365439

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1203258

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1199489
     
  16. Toddorndorff890 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    #16
    Hey guys sorry I haven't been back on here. If anyone is wanting to know, I was lucky enough to be able to find my original Mac cd so I was able to install it using VirtualBox. I got all the specs set and the CD opened right away on the desktop (of snow leopard through VB) and it installed no problem. It's a lot easier than it seemed to be. If anyone else does this, the game will run fine. Until you start to play it and your sims characters are moving around. My solution to this! While the game is playing (don't pause it keep t running) just shut your laptop. Let it go to sleep for about 10 seconds and open it back up. It will lag for a few and should start right back up. Least that's what I've been doing and it works great. For anyone that responded thanks a ton guys! Anyone have any questions about this just send me a message and I'll be more than happy to help.
     
  17. DeneshaSGorman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Location:
    Illinois
    #17
    --- Post Merged, Dec 22, 2016 ---
    Hi! How are you? I stumbled upon your thread when I researched ways to play The Sims Complete Collection on an up to date MacBook. I have a 2016 and it's run under Sierra. Do I have a chance?
     
  18. brandoncoppin macrumors newbie

    brandoncoppin

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    #18
    Hey! I purchased the Sims 2 Ultimate Collection form the Mac App Store. It works brilliantly in 4K and I am running the most recent version of Sierra. It's only $20 so I'd say it's your easiest fix.
     

Share This Page