Simulate Location Hack in Apple Maps Gone in iOS 11

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by pruppert, Jun 28, 2017.

  1. pruppert macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    This was a little known capability, but you used to be able to change the Apple Maps plist setting for __internal__PlaceCardLocationSimulation to true, in com.apple.Maps.plist. This would reveal a button in Apple Maps to simulate you GPS for all apps to any location on Earth to you choosing. This did not require a jailbreak. Google it to learn more.

    This was super useful to avoid geo-restrictions on apps like the blackouts in MLB At Bat. Sadly, this seems to have been removed in iOS 11. Does anyone know if there is a workaround or another plist setting? Does anyone know how to find these private/internal plist settings for iOS? Maybe there is an alternate in iOS 11.
     
  2. VolceOntra macrumors 6502

    VolceOntra

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #2
    Can you try Xcode and set a location? I used that to cheat on Pokémon Go before realizing I didn’t care about that game.
     
  3. pruppert thread starter macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #3
    I haven't tried it on iOS 11, but I'm pretty certain the Xcode technique still works since it's part of the official dev tools. The downside there is that it is a semi-tethered solution. This other technique was a totally untethered way to simulate directly on the iOS device. It was great.

    I can't find an English picture of it, but it was as easy as setting a pin in Maps and tapping the Simulate Location button pictured below:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. wayi macrumors newbie

    wayi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Crowded Beijing
    #4
    好像从iOS 11 beta 2就移除了这个功能。本来很便利的
     
  5. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #5
    So I can use that to get the trial of YouTube TV? I want to see if it’s any good.

    I don’t believe there are any settings in the Developer menu for location simulation. I’ll have to try this.
     
  6. pruppert thread starter macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #6
    Have you tried to re-enable it via original methods? Part of me wonders if the beta just reset the plist settings, and it just needs to be re-implemented. Haven’t had the time to check myself.
     
  7. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #7

    But of course...the answer...right in front of our faces...
     
  8. wayi macrumors newbie

    wayi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Crowded Beijing
    #8
    I have backuped my iPhone just now but there is no com.apple.Maps.plist in the list. It seems that Apple removed it in iOS 11. It might be available by modifying the other three files, but I didn't try as there is no spare device for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pruppert thread starter macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #9
    Thanks. What app are you using to look through the backup? I had used iBackupBot in the past, but it no longer works.
     
  10. wayi macrumors newbie

    wayi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Crowded Beijing
    #10
    It's iBackupBot for Win Ver 5.4.4 and it works properly on my device. Did you disable encrypted backup when backing up?
     
  11. pruppert thread starter macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #11
    Yep, disabled. iBackupBot has seemed pretty clunky on Mac for a while.

    Of those three, I would guess MapsSupport.plist is the most likely candidate to re-add the setting (assuming no other Maps plist exists in some other directory).
     
  12. betopesco macrumors newbie

    betopesco

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #12
    Have u find a way ? I used to do the samething and used to work perfectly and easy. Thabks
     
  13. pruppert thread starter macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #13
    Nope. Never found a way, but I was never able to test the new plists mentioned by wayi above. That is an option that remains to be tried and might work. Let me know if you are able to try and what the result is.
     
  14. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    in the official iOS 11, com.apple.Maps.plist is present but after pasting the simulation command line and restore, it didn't come up with the simulate location. please anyone found a way out yet ? i'm using 3utools
     
  15. seganw macrumors newbie

    seganw

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #15
    I read the sqlite database from my official iOS 11 backup files. it is located in
    Code:
    ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/YOURBACKUP_HASH/Manifest.db
    following preferences are Apple maps realated
    Code:
    HomeDomain   Library/SpringBoard/ApplicationShortcuts/com.apple.Maps.plist   
    HomeDomain   Library/Preferences/com.apple.MapsSupport.plist   
    HomeDomain   Library/Preferences/com.apple.Maps.TransitWidget.plist   
    HomeDomain   Library/Preferences/com.apple.Maps.plist   
    HomeDomain   Library/Preferences/com.apple.MapsSuggestions.plist   
    AppDomainPlugin-com.apple.Maps.Widget   Library/Preferences/com.apple.Maps.Widget.plist   
    AppDomainGroup-group.com.apple.Maps   Library/Preferences/group.com.apple.Maps.plist   
    AppDomain-com.apple.Maps   Library/Preferences/com.apple.Maps.plist   
    
    The com.apple.Maps.plist are the same as my iOS 10 after upgrade, but no 'Simulate Location' in Apple Maps app.

    I think this hack is used by Apple Maps test team to do testing internally. Now they changed the method. If anyone works in Apple Maps testing team would know the new way :(
     
  16. Vedran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #16
    Thanks for the update! Have you tried inserting the ___internal___ key into any of the other plists to see if it would revive the function?
     
  17. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #17
    Please let us know if you did get through with it and anyone on the test team here, kindly do us a favor of that
     
  18. Nozuka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #18
    omg! of course i find out that there was a way to do this after i already updated... lol
    one of the few features i miss from android
     
  19. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #19

    Were you able to fix it on ios11 ? If yes share how you were able to please
     
  20. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #20
    Seems no one has figured this out yet. Please find solutions.
     
  21. marzie126 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Location:
    UK
  22. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #22
    No update yet. But want to check if it’s fixed in iOS 11.0.1
     
  23. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #23
    please let us know if you fixed it correctly.
     
  24. gladney247 macrumors newbie

    gladney247

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    United States
    #25
    The solution for now is downgrading back to ios 10.3.3 ow that apple still sign it
     

Share This Page