simultaneously run two webcams at the same time - mountain lion

billytheking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
5
1
First of all my name's Billy. Im trying to figure out how to run two webcams at the same time on my imac. Im running mountain lion osx 10.8. Im using this cool application called icam(http://skjm.com/icam/) to keep an eye on my bedroom which is why i want to run two webcams. Ive experimented a little and it seems like i can run the built in isight on facetime and then when i try to run the additional webcam on photobooth it doesnt work.

I read somewhere that it is an issue with the usb bus?
(Whats the usb bus and can i change it???)
Are there any work arounds?
Any software that will let me do it?
Kiminom
 
Last edited:

BasilFawlty

macrumors 6502
Jun 20, 2009
428
0
New Mexico
First of all my name's Billy. Im trying to figure out how to run two webcams at the same time on my imac. Im running mountain lion osx 10.8. Im using this cool application called icam(http://skjm.com/icam/) to keep an eye on my bedroom which is why i want to run two webcams. Ive experimented a little and it seems like i can run the built in isight on facetime and then when i try to run the additional webcam on photobooth it doesnt work.

I read somewhere that it is an issue with the usb bus?
(Whats the usb bus and can i change it???)
Are there any work arounds?
Any software that will let me do it?

My email is <deleted>
Just a friendly tip - it's a very bad idea to publically post your email address on a forum like this, unless you like spam. (or the email address is one you don't care about wrt spam). Just FYI, they have a PM system here you can use.
 

billytheking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
5
1
Solved

So i figured it out. For some weird reason the usb port that i had plugged my webcam into was showing the webcam but not able to play both. If you are facing your imac, and reach your hand around to the back of the iMac. I used the usb port to the right (if facing the imac from the rear its the far left) and it worked.

Thanks everybody
 
  • Like
Reactions: leodennis

liseky

macrumors newbie
Sep 7, 2012
1
1
Thank you for the solution!! I can confirm, plugging the webcam into the USB port farthest away from the center will enable both the USB webcam and the FaceTime camera on the iMac to run simultaneously. I have a 2012 27" iMac model. Woohoo!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: leodennis

davidgnomo

macrumors 6502a
Feb 16, 2012
593
16
Imola (BO) - Italy
Thank you for the solution!! I can confirm, plugging the webcam into the USB port farthest away from the center will enable both the USB webcam and the FaceTime camera on the iMac to run simultaneously. I have a 2012 27" iMac model. Woohoo!!
Yeah ... and I got a 2013 30'' retina iMac Pro !
 

billytheking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
5
1
Thank you for the solution!! I can confirm, plugging the webcam into the USB port farthest away from the center will enable both the USB webcam and the FaceTime camera on the iMac to run simultaneously. I have a 2012 27" iMac model. Woohoo!!
Haha. Glad that there is someone else out there struggling with the same thing! I'm glad I got it to work. I'm using icam and its really cool. I can watch my room from anywhere I am.

----------

http://www.bensoftware.com/securityspy/

Features include motion detection, alarm notices, etc.
Way too expensive. Don't want to pay that much... :( Plus I've already got something that works! :)
 

haleymaek

macrumors newbie
Sep 16, 2013
4
0
Thank you for the solution!! I can confirm, plugging the webcam into the USB port farthest away from the center will enable both the USB webcam and the FaceTime camera on the iMac to run simultaneously. I have a 2012 27" iMac model. Woohoo!!
So are you using 2 usb cams or just the one + the imac built in camera? I am trying to use 2 usb or wifi cameras. thanks :)
 

leodennis

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2016
1
0
Thank YOU!!!!!
I wanted to use a USB webcam and the build in FaceTime camera at the same time and I couldn't figure out why it didn't work. Then I changed the USB port for the webcam and it worked on my Mac Book Pro!!! Weird though...
(For some tags: I used the Java Webcam Capture api to run two webcams simultaneously)