simultaneously run two webcams at the same time - mountain lion

Discussion in 'iMac' started by billytheking, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. billytheking, Aug 14, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012

    billytheking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #1
    First of all my name's Billy. Im trying to figure out how to run two webcams at the same time on my imac. Im running mountain lion osx 10.8. Im using this cool application called icam(http://skjm.com/icam/) to keep an eye on my bedroom which is why i want to run two webcams. Ive experimented a little and it seems like i can run the built in isight on facetime and then when i try to run the additional webcam on photobooth it doesnt work.

    I read somewhere that it is an issue with the usb bus?
    (Whats the usb bus and can i change it???)
    Are there any work arounds?
    Any software that will let me do it?
    Kiminom
     
  2. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
  3. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    Just a friendly tip - it's a very bad idea to publically post your email address on a forum like this, unless you like spam. (or the email address is one you don't care about wrt spam). Just FYI, they have a PM system here you can use.
     
  4. billytheking thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #4
    Solved

    So i figured it out. For some weird reason the usb port that i had plugged my webcam into was showing the webcam but not able to play both. If you are facing your imac, and reach your hand around to the back of the iMac. I used the usb port to the right (if facing the imac from the rear its the far left) and it worked.

    Thanks everybody
     
  5. liseky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    #5
    Thank you for the solution!! I can confirm, plugging the webcam into the USB port farthest away from the center will enable both the USB webcam and the FaceTime camera on the iMac to run simultaneously. I have a 2012 27" iMac model. Woohoo!!
     
  6. uptownnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #6
    Sure you do. Do you keep it next to your unicorn?
     
  7. davidgnomo macrumors 6502a

    davidgnomo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    My place !
    #7
    Yeah ... and I got a 2013 30'' retina iMac Pro !
     
  8. DisMyMac macrumors 65816

    DisMyMac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
  9. billytheking thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #9
    Haha. Glad that there is someone else out there struggling with the same thing! I'm glad I got it to work. I'm using icam and its really cool. I can watch my room from anywhere I am.

    ----------

    Way too expensive. Don't want to pay that much... :( Plus I've already got something that works! :)
     
  10. haleymaek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #10
    So are you using 2 usb cams or just the one + the imac built in camera? I am trying to use 2 usb or wifi cameras. thanks :)
     
  11. leodennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    #11
    Thank YOU!!!!!
    I wanted to use a USB webcam and the build in FaceTime camera at the same time and I couldn't figure out why it didn't work. Then I changed the USB port for the webcam and it worked on my Mac Book Pro!!! Weird though...
    (For some tags: I used the Java Webcam Capture api to run two webcams simultaneously)
     

Share This Page