Since the Touch Bar is OLED, do you expect burn in?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aevan, Jan 21, 2017.

  1. aevan macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #1
    As the title says - do you expect some burn in to appear after a while? I'm hoping that since I haven't heard about burn in on Apple Watches that Apple is using high quality displays for Touch Bar.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. maka344 macrumors 6502a

    maka344

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    If you set it to the traditional function keys yes.
     
  3. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #3
    I understand what you mean, but even with the App Mode, certain buttons (like the ones in the expendable control strip part to the right) remain on screen all the time, so it's basically the same.

    Still, I hope this won't be an issue.
     
  4. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #4
    Considering if we take an AppleCare pack our systems are protected for 3 years, this should be enough time for burn to appear, no? We could get it replaced. And anyway, can't do anything but use the machine to its fullest. Worrying about the 9Ah difference between nTB and TB, worrying about this burn, is all gonna take us away from using the machine. That way, we should not buy laptops, to keep the batteries in top condition. We should not use the laptops, since using them means precious read/write cycles on the disk. So on. :D

    My point, just use the new machine with new possibilities and capabilities and enjoy the experience.
     
  5. evec macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    #5
    In old era i have a phone and MD player with OLED mono display and all display stop bright after two year even rarely use it.
     
  6. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #6
    I agree. I was more curious than anything, but I'm not worrying about it :)
     
  7. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #7
    I have begun making the touch bar my own - something I couldn't do with the redundant buttons (for me) on the keyboard of my old MBP or the new nTB MBP.

    I have removed Siri, brought in Screen Capture. Expanding the touch bar, I brought in Screen Lock, and can now quickly use the screen lock button when I am at the office and wish to move around from my desk for something. Coming back, a short and sweet smooch between my fingertip and the Mac brings the Mac alive.

    There are good customisation possibilities with the touch bar and I recognised this when I saw the context-sensitive nature of the TB, and hence purchased this. The only buttons I ever touched on my old MBP were display brightness and sound apart from Escape. Having the touch bar means I will now have relevant stuff literally on tap.

    Touch bar is a step forward in making the Mac and the general computing experience better, if only one can see it with open eyes instead of dismissing it as a gimmick.
     
  8. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #8
    Why not just use the quick and easy keyboard shortcuts to do same?

    Screen Capture combo especially has been ingrained in my muscle memory for years and years...
    You end up needing the space bar to switch modes of capture anyhow (from drag selection to window)
     
  9. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    I think the main reason the touch bar goes to sleep so quickly is to avoid burn-in. I suppose that will prevent it.
     
  10. SteveJUAE macrumors 68000

    SteveJUAE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Land of Smiles
    #10
    I think you should not be considering AppleCare in this instance as the TB should be lasting a reasonable amount of time else there will be an awful lot of claims under European consumer rights or recall etc

    As you note just enjoy
     
  11. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #11
    Before the touch bar, I was and still am totally accustomed to the command + shift + 3 or 4 depending on what you want to do. Having it on the TB is just a "convenience". :)
    --- Post Merged, Jan 22, 2017 ---
    I suggested AppleCare as an option to aevan if he wishes to and since it is relatively cheaper to buy with better facilities offered to the user than in my country. I did not take AppleCare for my 2011 MBP 15 because it was priced at $400. I may not take AppleCare for this machine as well.
     
  12. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    They remain onscreen, but the proportions change as you move between different applications. From a technical standpoint, the OLED panel is not displaying a consistent image.
     
  13. SteveJUAE macrumors 68000

    SteveJUAE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Land of Smiles
    #13
    My appols if you read it as a criticism :) it was meant to imply of little concern
     
  14. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #14
    No No, got your purport. I was merely telling that I wasn't considering it and was only suggesting him exactly what you said, that there isn't actually a need, but he may take it if he finds he really would be happier with it.

    Plus, the good thing being that for the price, they don't cripple AppleCare like they do here in India, so for many in the US or any other major Apple market, it may actually make good sense considering that AppleCare comes cheap for what it offers.
     
  15. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #15
    I'm pretty sure the minimized control strip part (the shorter one, with siri and volume, etc) stays in the same place for most of the time.

    Still, not worried.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 22, 2017 ---
    Yup, AC is really expensive for MBPs now, but I got it just the same. Peace of mind and all that.
     
  16. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #16
    To me that sounds a lot like "a function I don't need on the touch bar as I already am accustomed to doing it faster and easier without even needing to look down"

    ;)
     
  17. SteveJUAE macrumors 68000

    SteveJUAE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Land of Smiles
    #17
    No problem

    Agreed many US users here who rarely see the other side of the ponds cost of ownership and level of service similar in UAE and Thailand. AC was a bit more troublesome in UAE until a true Apple store opened just over a year back, before authorised dealers did not offer the same level of service or support if you needed it

    Personally I have never bought AC and being lucky I am several $K in front now :) but I did advise my son to get it for the rMB I gifted him, fortunately he gets educational discount as a lecturer

    I only recommended it for the rMB KB and those tiered batteries. The MBP 2016 should be a better risk IMO
     
  18. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #18
    On the Touch Bar you can change what area to capture and whether to send the image to the desktop, to the documents or to the clipboard. It's very convenient - one button replaces 4 keyboard shortcuts, and even adds an additional option (sending images to the Documents folder)

    Touch Bar is not meant to replace keyboard shortcuts, but to offer interactive controls that offer additional options that shortcuts can't.

    It's secondary function is to offer shortcuts to actions you don't know keyboard shortcuts for, but that's not the main reason for using it.

    It's a very useful and smart feature that will only get better with time.
     
  19. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #19
    Ok. Hardly essential at this time.

    If they bring it to desktop and Devs dig in for a couple years maybe..for now I'm on the sidelines anyhow as a desktop user.
     
  20. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #20
    Well, depends how you define "essential"? Is any improvement "essential"? Is a faster CPU essential? You can do most work on a 2011 MBP even today. So it's not essential - but it's useful.

    Seems to me like you're downplaying it to feel better for not having it - sorry, but it really does. It's not "essential" - it's just very, very useful and a great addition to the Mac. It is a great improvement to the input.

    Still, this is not the topic of this conversation. I was just interested in people's views on OLED burn in.
     
  21. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #21
    @aevan

    I am downplaying it, yes....at least at this time
    We shall see what the future brings.

    In terms of essential, I use the actual definition of the word..

    "absolutely necessary; extremely important."

    The TouchBar does not fit that description right now.
     
  22. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #22
    It's in the same place in that it's on the right edge of the Touch Bar. But when you switch applications, the buttons lengthen and shorten based on the context. Burn in occurs when each pixel is constantly displaying the same thing. In this case, even though the panel as a whole is displaying the same buttons, the pixels themselves are not displaying the same thing.
     
  23. aevan thread starter macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #23
    Does anything fit into that description? For example - everyone wants a faster cpu and gpu with each generation - but is that "extremely important"? If you're looking for only essential and extremely important updates, you can get by with any Mac in the last five or six years.
     
  24. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #24
    I think the new macOS will have better out-of-the-box support for Touch Bar. Right now it is just a glimpse. This is Apple today, we get hardware first year and full software support next year with updated hardware.

    The only gripe anybody is having with a Touch Bar is simply Apple's fault, they did not bring as nested support for it as they could have brought, and hence people are left to feel it as gimmicky since the purpose as well as scope is not yet fully realised.
     
  25. Jaekae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #25
    Touchbar have that auto sleep function to prevent or atleast make it take a very long time to reach burn in, most ppl probably already upgrade laptop before it happen i think even if its set to have only function keys
     

Share This Page