Single 4GB SoDIMM for iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cams, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. Cams macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #1
    I have an August 2007 iMac 1,7 (2.8 Core 2 Extreme, 667MHz RAM, 4MB Cache). According to everymac.com, it will support 6GB of RAM (1 x 2GB and 1 x 4GB). I'm having trouble finding a UK supplier for a single 4GB stick. Can anyone point me to a supplier? Crucial doesn't have them. I did find this on Amazon.uk but I don't know if it will be compatible:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/DDR2-SODIMM...3J4M/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1292326200&sr=8-9

    Is anyone out there running one of these machines with 6 gigs and can confirm that it will work? And where can I buy the stuff???

    Thanks
    Cams

    PS. I'm running Snow Leopard.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It should work as it matches OWC's specs. Can't guarantee though
     
  3. Cams thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #3
    Thanks. I ended up ordering from OWC, just to be sure. Thankfully they ship internationally. It's amazing how hard it is to find a single 4-gig stick in the UK! :mad:
     
  4. MacHamster68, Dec 14, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    not difficult at all ,just go on the crucial uk site and look for pc5300 200pin and you find one there, just dont select your system because crucial will select only what apple recommends and thats maximum 4 gb ram in total, so you just need to look for the same spec 4 gb 200 pin sodimm ,instead of the 2gb sodimm ,sorted ;)

    i'm just used to crucial now as their prices here in uk are really competitive , especially as they dropped prices for christmas
     
  5. Cams thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #5
    Oh well, too late. I did select my system, which is why I didn't find the 4-gig stick. Crucial should fix that.
     

Share This Page