Single reason I don't want Touch Bar, despite its appeal

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by robertfrancis70, Nov 5, 2016.

  1. robertfrancis70 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #1
    Am I alone or wrong in thinking along these lines...

    I intend to buy the new 13" MBP, but don't think the TB version is for me.

    It's not the cost. Here in Canada, it's roughly $450 more with tax, but then you also get a better processor, GPU, and more ports.

    And I'm not a developer; but even if I were, the Touch Bar still keeps the escape key in roughly the same spot most of the time. (Or in every setting in every pic I've seen.)

    The reason I don't want the Touch Bar is that I'm obsessive about screen brightness (mainly) and the brightness of the keyboard backlighting and volume. I'm *constantly* tweaking screen brightness -- at least every 10 ten minutes, no matter where I am, and often playing with the other two settings.

    One of the things I like most about the Mac -- over a Surface Pro 4 I use some of the time at work -- is that I have direct access to brightness. The Touch Bar would take this away.

    From what I can glean watching clips of the event online, it appears that most if not all the time, the Touch Bar will truncate the core function keys (volume and brightness) to two or three buttons to the left, so that any adjustments are at least two clicks away: first to bring up the control, then to adjust it. The fact that the Surface buries these controls (in the Control Panel) drives me crazy, and I suspect that it would do the same with the Touch Bar.

    In short: the Touch Bar might offer new functionality, but it would do so at the cost of burying -- even if only one level deep -- the things I want constant access to: brightness and volume.

    I know I'm OCD on this, but am I wrong? Missing something?
     
  2. crazee928 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #2
    same. i was thinking this exact same thing but for the playback controls which i use frequently. wonder if there's a way for them to have an os update to have permanently dockable function keys, but that'd mean developers would have to worry about a dynamically sized touchbar which could get complicated UX-wise
     
  3. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #3
    It's good for kids who like emojis and people who can't spell.
     
  4. mdapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #4
    You might want some medication... this doesn't sound healthy lol
     
  5. idunn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #5
    It would seem you have sound reasons for your concern; controls such as brightness may not always be readily available, as they are now.

    As well, I'm rather fond of the Escape key. I'm wondering, but more waiting for the first reports of someone who needed it to get out of a program—as in example perhaps some game—then found the Escape key would not materialize. Perhaps not, and Apple has thought this all through sufficiently. Or not.
     
  6. Hyloba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #6
    If you have any controls you use frequently, you can show them permanently on the right side of the bar. If you don't like the changing buttons per app, you can just check an option to always show the core controls. In the end you can customize the bar a lot, way more customization than I am used to by apple.
     
  7. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #7
    Exactly. I think professional help is in order here :p
     
  8. SJTrance macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #8
    This may be a problem but we don't really know what the settings and tweaks of the touch bar are until we get our hands on it. I have much greater issues with the computer but if this is most important to you, then it is important to your purchase decision. But let's see what they come out with.

    Also, what the hell is up with the emoji obsession? Does that really need to be in the keynote as a feature?
     
  9. brewmonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #9
    I thought I saw the fancy adaptive functionality could be disabled and then it would essentially look just like it does today on physical ones (albeit soft keys instead of physical ones). Is that incorrect?
     
  10. fxbeta macrumors member

    fxbeta

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    #10
    I don't adjust my screen brightness with that kind of frequency but yes, I thought the same thing. Right now I hit the ESC key, screen brightness, and volume controls many times a day and find them via tactile feedback. A touch screen means you have to look down to find them.
     
  11. robertfrancis70 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #11
    Thanks everyone, very helpful responses -- perhaps I overstate: maybe not every 10 minutes, but very frequently...

    Certainly still OCD...!
     
  12. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #12
    I think perhaps you should wait until people have them and can report about how the touchbar really works. Then at least you will know you made the right choice, to go touchbar or no touchbar. Plus if you wait you can go to the store to play with it and see for yourself.

    The smartalec in me ...it may just be one more thing you adjust frequently throughout the day...
     
  13. jackoatmon macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #13
    what r u talking about theres a brightness setting right there on the touch bar

    its in all the pictures
     
  14. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #14
    No you aren't wrong, you are OCD! I think the brightness is available on the touch bar.
     
  15. Altis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #15
    I tend to agree with OP. I think the normal function buttons (volume, brightness) are more useful than trying to get other functions into a thin touchscreen.

    I didn't see them showcase anything that I'd find useful at all, and that should be where the strongest ideas are. In particular, I don't foresee having to DJ using that strip as the main controls. ;)
     
  16. justywusty macrumors regular

    justywusty

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #16
    I believe if you press and hold the brightness button that's always there on the right, you just slide left or right to change as it becomes a slider. Pretty sure I tried this already on the touch bar simulator in Xcode. You have even finer control using the touch bar since it's a slider and not just finite changes from button presses.
     
  17. robertfrancis70 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #17
    Thanks justywusty, but to be clear, it's still a two-step process:

    1. touch and hold-down brightness button, slight delay until slider appears, and

    2. move slider.

    Several times a day... is this better than hitting just one button?
     
  18. teidon macrumors 6502

    teidon

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #18
    You don't need to touch and wait. You can just slide the button and it will just work.
     
  19. Shark5150 macrumors 6502a

    Shark5150

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    Philly
    #19
    That settles it. Don't buy it then.
     
  20. username: macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    #20
    this
     
  21. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #21
    Sounds more complicated than it needs to be....
     
  22. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #22
    FWIW there is a keyboard shortcut to adjust the brightness on the SP4. FN-Backspace/Fn-Delete.
     
  23. Macalway, Nov 5, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2016

    Macalway macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #23
    Do not buy the touch bar :(

    Then again, it may offer new possibilities for you.

    You maybe be able to adjust brightness in many more ways. You could adjust from the left, from the right. You could adjust with both hands!

    The possibilities are endless! Lucky
     
  24. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    I'm with you OP, but TouchBar seems to be customisable. You may be getting a regular F1...F12 button emulation option.
     
  25. Macalway macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #25
    Of course this has to be an option, standard mode. This is a certainty. If not now, soon afterward.
     

Share This Page