Single Xeon X5675 in 5.1 will it work?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Stageshoot, Oct 18, 2015.

  1. Stageshoot macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #1
    Hi

    Sorry if this is a dumb question

    Have purchased a cheap genuine 5.1 2010 single CPU machine.. (Not a 4.1 firmware flash)

    Looking to upgrade CPU, I have a Xeon X5675 6 core that is working and pulled from a dual CPU server

    Just checking this will work in a single CPU configuration machine, or do I need to look for a specific CPU for the single CPU boards

    Any confirmation would be appreciated before I start pulling it apart for the CPU upgrade..
     
  2. bokkow macrumors regular

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. Stageshoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #3
    Thank you.. Will get the long Allen keys out this afternoon and give it a go, I know the boost from 2.8 4 core to 3.05 6 core is not huge.. But every little helps
     
  4. bokkow macrumors regular

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Two additional cores can be a nice boost, depending on what you use your Pro for ;)
    Next to that change in performance, your memory wil work at 1333MHz with the X5675 (if the memory itself is rated up to 1333MHz that is).

    It is a straightforward process, little can go wrong if you take your time.
     
  5. Stageshoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #5
    Cheers..

    Just a quick update, Overhaul completed..

    4 Core 2.8 Xeon out 6 Core 3.06 Xeon in
    SSD Moved from Sata to PCIe Board
    5770 Graphics out GTX970 in

    Like a new machine...

    All working so far, 5770 mothballed for times I need boot screen, which is not often

    Only issue so far is no sound through HDMI on the GTX970, so need to do some invesigation (Works fine in Win 10 in bootcamp) just not in El Capitan
     
  6. bokkow macrumors regular

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands

Share This Page