Siri acting real slow

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by yusukeaoki, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Hi guys.
    So my Siri has been acting very slow today.
    I reseted my network setting, rebooted and all.
    Even called Apple Support but all they can do for me is wait.

    My siri is very slow now.
    And 80% of the time it cant give me answers.
    If i ask her what time is it? or who are you?
    it still responds to me with "Sorry, can you try that again?"
    or "Sorry I cant take any requests now"

    Sometimes it gives me answers (rarely).
    But it takes like 3 min just to tell me time.

    Is the network busy?
    When I called Apple, it said it should be fine in 2~3 hours.
    Its been 6 hours now...
     
  2. Aznjonathan0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #2
    It's happenening to mine too. I think it's something with the servers. I tried looking this up and I guess this happened a couple weeks ago and it was due to the servers.
     
  3. yusukeaoki, Nov 27, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011

    yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    I remember last month how the servers were completely down.
    I hope they fix this by tonight cuz I gotta drive to my university tomorrow and really going to need siri.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    It's working perfectly fine for me right now. A query of the current time took only about 2 seconds to return.
     
  5. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Mines taking 1 min to get time.
    And the it tells me
    "Sorry, I couldnt get that. Can you try it again please?"
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    All I can guess is that there is some network troubles between your location and their servers.

    I'm sure they have many Siri servers spread across the country or world and the routing between my location and the nearest server must be better right now.
     
  7. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Hmm I live in cupertino CA so that shouldnt be a problem.
    Since Apple HQ is like 15 min away...
    But I guess there is many user at this time using it since I can sometimes connect now.
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Just because you live close to the Apple campus, doesn't mean they cannot have network troubles between your location and the servers.

    It's not just Apple that you have to rely on for their service, it's your ISP, and all the hops between your phone and the network server itself.
     
  9. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    I understand but I mean by "not able to get any connections because of where I am" wouldnt be right. But yes probably because of server.

    I tried with Wifi,got my friends with sprint and verizon and still didnt work so I guess its the server not the ISP
     
  10. ShionoyaTamaki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #10
    i noticed it was slow today too, but it still completed. it is most likely the server load or something. The iPhone just records your voice and everything is translated on apple's server.
     
  11. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    mines completely down now :(
    It keeps on giving me try again later or sorry couldnt do it.
     
  12. Joewat64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    TX
  13. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #13
    It's probably slow today because of everyone getting their new iPhone 5 and using Siri a lot.
     

Share This Page