Siri integration restricted to 8 countries, separate remote for other countries.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by AppleMooseMan, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. AppleMooseMan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    #1
    Doesn't seem like many noticed this but there's two new remotes for the new Apple TV. One with Siri integration for supported countries and one without, for the countries that don't support it.


    "The Apple TV Remote comes in two flavors—one with Siri built in and the other with onscreen search capabilities. The Siri Remote is available in the following countries:

    • Australia

    • Canada

    • France

    • Germany

    • Japan

    • Spain

    • United Kingdom

    • United States
    Apple TVs in all other countries are packaged with the Apple TV Remote."


    https://developer.apple.com/library..._PG/index.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40015241
     
  2. pposthoorn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    This is a major disappointment.

    Why would they do this? I'm from The Netherlands and we have Siri in Dutch on iOS and watchOS and it works great. I don't see why it can't work on the Apple TV....
     
  3. Frosties, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

    Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Major fail. But I would put this on Apple's usual game - "let's keep some features for the next one". Also stop blocking movies and tv shows from other countries than the US itunes store.

    Oh, and wake up and make the itunes store 4k, now. Don't make this into another apple music fiasco where all other players own the market already. We are many who have 100/100 or better now as connection.

    Be Apple, innovate and be at the front.
     
  4. oneMadRssn macrumors 601

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I don't think it's a separate remote. I think the remote is the same - just the Siri functionality isn't enabled in the software and the search button just brings up a regular search UI field.
     
  5. AeroBar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #5
    I'm in Ireland. If I bought an AppleTV in the UK, then would Siri work okay, or can it detect the location.

    Also, is it still possible to change the country on AppleTV? We have the grey AppleTV that allows us to use both my account and my girlfriend's American account.
     
  6. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #6
    Wasn't Siri limited to certain countries at launch?
     
  7. gloryunited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #7
    Exactly.

    Even if it can't, many of us (from other countries) would rather use Siri with English than not having the function at all.
     
  8. redrog macrumors 6502

    redrog

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #8
    This is good news!

    It means that the old remote works with the new Apple TV. Which means my Universal Remote isn't completely useless as far as the new box is concerned. Sure, I need the new remote for games and maybe Siri, but just flicking on a film or something will work.
     
  9. Jay-Jacob macrumors regular

    Jay-Jacob

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Location:
    England
    #9
    I from UK mean I can get Siri on remote but I can't use it (me be Deaf). Other country don't have Siri say have "onscreen search capabilities". I wonder if that option in UK too? So I can search.
     
  10. Reason077 macrumors 68020

    Reason077

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #10
    The Apple documentation seems to suggest that there's two different remotes, depending on which country it's for. The "Siri remote" and the "Apple TV Remote".

    Perhaps these remotes are physically identical, except the "Siri" button has a "Search" icon instead in countries where Siri on the Apple TV isn't supported?
     
  11. Reason077 macrumors 68020

    Reason077

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    Almost certainly, it will be possible to search without using Siri. Apple have a good record when it comes to accessibility.
     
  12. Jay-Jacob macrumors regular

    Jay-Jacob

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Location:
    England
    #12
    I agree Apple been really good with accessibility. Even their livestream WWDC and iPhone event have subtitles live.
     
  13. kristoffer4, Sep 11, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015

    kristoffer4 macrumors 6502a

    kristoffer4

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    I hope that is the case in Denmark, I don't want a completely different remote!
    Can we still see things like weather and imdb info without Siri I wonder?
     
  14. FrederikTK macrumors member

    FrederikTK

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Denmark
    #14
    Helt enig!

    If I have no way to get Siri on my Apple TV I won't be upgrading. It makes no sense whatsoever that they wouldn't allow us to use the english version of Siri here in Denmark (We could do that before getting a Danish version). Otherwise I might try to get it from Germany or the UK.
     
  15. FrederikTK macrumors member

    FrederikTK

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    According to the link you provided there will be one remote.


    Note the part I've bolded, furthermore, the Figure 1-1 which they refer to in the beginning of the quote, shows a single remote with the image text:

    Siri Remote and Apple TV Remote

    The single remote shown there, has the Siri button, there should have been to different remotes if your statement was correct.
     
  16. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #16
    The thing we don't know and the text indicate is that yes there are 2 separate remotes, one with a Siri chip and one without the Siri chip inside the remote.
     
  17. FrederikTK macrumors member

    FrederikTK

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Honestly I find it confusing, it seems to me that there are indications for both scenarios. If they seriously are going to pull a move like that, I'll be getting my Apple TV from the UK or Germany.
     
  18. Otago Lad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    I very much doubt there will be two different remotes that have different "chips" inside. My view is that it will depend on which country's iTunes account you are logged into on the Apple TV e.g. I live in New Zealand and have iTunes accounts for NZ, UK, USA and Canada - if I'm looked into my NZ account I won't be able to use Siri, however if I'm logged into any of the other three countries I will be able to use Siri. This is exactly the same as with Apple Music and other services that aren't/weren't available in NZ but are in the USA and which when I switch my iTunes account on my iPhone, iPad or aTV to the USA I can use.

    May be wrong but doubt that Apple will physically limit a device that they will later rollout Siri support for - people would be pretty annoyed if they had to buy new hardware once Siri support was added.
     
  19. Wunderwally macrumors member

    Wunderwally

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    Austria
    #19
    The biggest problem outside the US (and presumably UK & Canada) is that Apple really needs to fix Siri in other languages. Especially with movies and music Siri is just a mess, at least in germany and austria. Good luck finding some movies based on actors or something similar. It really seems Apple doesn't realize that names of f.e. actors are pronounced the same way as in the US.

    I honestly would like Siri to work, but repeating everything three to four times is just too frustrating and more time consuming than a text-based search.
     
  20. scotttnz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #20
    Well, after reading this, the new Apple TV has gone from a must buy, to "what's the point?"
    The headline feature won't work where I live.

    They updated Siri on the iPhone etc earlier this year to understand the Kiwi accent, so why not on the TV?
     
  21. oneMadRssn macrumors 601

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #22
    That's what I mean. The button doesn't say Siri on it, it just has a microphone icon. However, the App Programming Guide for tvOS explains this button will cause a different software function depending on country.

    The only difference is the name. Of course they can't call it the Siri Remote where there is no Siri. So they call it something else in those countries, and the software handles that one button differently.

    I bet there will also be a setting to disable Siri in those countries that do have it, and just have the onscreen search app instead.
     
  22. Wunderwally macrumors member

    Wunderwally

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    Austria
    #23
    Does anyone know if the Siri integration is actually based on the location (using IP adress location) or on the Apple ID?
     
  23. lucasrant macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #24
    Yes, the very question I need answered!
     
  24. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #25
    Another thing, how will developers in these no-Siri parts of the tvos world check that everything works. Must all have a us account? Fun Times!
     

Share This Page