Siri Location-based reminders??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by afousek, Oct 18, 2011.

1. afousek macrumors member

I'm still learning Siri.........and so far it's great. Each day I'm getting the hang of it.

But, for some reason, I cannot get any location-based reminders to work. And yes, I have the location-based setting on.

If I tell Siri to remind me to feed the dog when I get home, it won't do it. Or, if I tell it to remind me to get milk when I leave work.....nada.

Anyone else having issues? Is there something else that I'm missing? I've gone into the Siri settings and gave it "my info", etc.

Thanks.

2. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

It works fine for me. Do you actually see the reminder created in your Reminders app?

3. ksoze macrumors regular

ksoze

This seems to be the big issue for many as they explore Siri.

Some tips, although I think it is still not fully baked with this feature:

Do you have a Contact entry called (nickname) "home" and "work"?
    Do you have Reminders set to iCloud?
    Do you have MS Exchange with reminders set on?

All of these seem to intertwine to effect the location-based reminders ability to work as expected or hoped, but it has been flaky for me even after messing with these items. It works one minute and then does not know the location the next time I use a similar command.

4. Bossyman macrumors member

How do u set reminders to iCloud?

----------

Oops found it. :)

5. ksoze macrumors regular

ksoze

Did that work?

6. afousek thread starter macrumors member

Yes, I have "home" and "work" set in my contacts.
    I also have reminders set to iCloud.
    My email account is MS Exchange. Where do I turn reminders on for Exchange?

7. ksoze macrumors regular

ksoze

There was a discussion on the Apple tech boards whioch actually recommended turning reminders OFF in MS X. You do that under Mail settings, under your exchange mail account.

8. Slowlo macrumors newbie