SIRI needs internet to work?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by PerplexShyt, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. PerplexShyt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #1
    Ok see that right there is NOT ok.

    There are some places that at&t data doesn't do well in my town, and it will be hell to use in those areas.....and plus now my Data plan is going up even MORE than before?

    i understand the need for server side technology to further enhance the "comprehension" for siri...but ehhhhhhhhh
     
  2. Gatteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #2
    Siri is still in a beta phase. I'm sure things could change.
     
  3. saving107, Oct 11, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011

    saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    Siri needs the internet for some task, not all.


    You're only sending kilobyte files at a time, your Data plan isn't going to go up even MORE than before.
     
  4. troop231 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #4
    What did you expect? Theres no way an iPhone can hold Terabytes of info...
     
  5. rkahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #5
    Is this really a surprise to you? Really! Besides do you honestly think you will use it that much unless it really catches on?
     
  6. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #6
    How else would Siri search maps, google and things like this? I could see it being able to make appointments and accept dictation, but anything else you would need internet to do these tasks yourself. Just my .02 on it though.
     
  7. jgalan14 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #7
    Well Google voice is the same way, usually it sents information for further optimization in the future , bit I'm pretty sure to add a reminder, or calendar appoiment you won't need to, but who knows
     
  8. Frasern1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Even the dictation is done server side. Which makes sense to me. There is no way the iPhone could handle all that and store all that information.
     
  9. urkel macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #9
    If you're out in the boondocks of a city that has no 3G available then you adont need to ask what the weather is.
     
  10. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #10
    Not true. That's the exact time when you want to ask Siri, "Where the hell am I?!"
     
  11. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    I don't think the voice recognition is done server side because all the other apps (e.g., the notepad) allow you to talk to enter data as well, and those don't have a stated requirement of internet.
     
  12. Kendo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #12
    Of course it requires Internet access. If you are asking it for the latest weather or nice restaurants in the area, it needs to utilize the weather and Yelp apps as well as location services.

    I don't think data usage would go up at all. Instead of pressing the weather app which uses data to get the current weather, you are asking Siri to do it for you. It still has to access the weather app and retrieve data the same way as if you manually searched yourself.
     
  13. Ramunas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #13
    [​IMG]
     
  14. 0blivion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #14
    The Siri I'm getting doesn't need internet. Then again, I have around three terabytes of memory, so the phone already has all the info stored onto it..
     
  15. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #15
    So you get that it needs a server to process (it is still a phone with limited data storage and limited processing power).....

    and you get that that the server isn't in your phone right?

    So in order to get the data to the server, it has to send the info right?

    In order to send the info you need a data plan (or be connected via wifi which will circumvent your data plan)....

    Not sure what the surprise is here?
     
  16. Krayzie116 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #16
    this is a dumb question is it going to use data for just texting some one I know my dad going to be using that a lot siri for texting. for me i am not worried i have unlimited data :D
     
  17. iSaxon macrumors 6502a

    iSaxon

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #17
    Will it still work without internet for the tasks that don't need interent? Like to add a iCal event, etc.?
     
  18. NorfolkMustard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    If you watch the macworld video, it seems to be using internet connection as soon as he activates siri microphone, before any command has been given. Presumably it's sending the stream of sound via the mic to apple to be interpreted.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/162944/2011/10/iphone_4s_its_a_sure_thing.html
     
  19. mowbr4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #19
    When we are using the term "Internet", are we talking you must have a Wi-Fi connection or a 3G connection?

    Pardon the possible stupid question :D
     
  20. Frasern1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #20
    Either or. Both are deemed as internet connections.
     
  21. PerplexShyt thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #21
    but the thing is, if you ask it things like, please make a reminder for this thursday to pick up dry cleaning -- all that info should be done "within the phone" but SIRI needs to access DATA to bounce it off the servers to "translate" the information to comprehend the task.
     
  22. JulianL macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #22
    The original Siri video was still on the siri site until this week but apple have now redirected siri.com to the Apple web site. That video had someone from Siri demonstrating the app and talking through what it was doing. He clearly said in about the first 30 seconds of the video that the voice data was uploaded to the servers for processing.

    From the videos that I've seen Siri is able to interpret quite carelessly spoken sentences with the speaker making no attempt to talk slowly and clearly for the computer, sometimes with a few "um"s and "err"s in there as well. Recognising genuine conversational speech is difficult to do, especially when no training is required first to optimise the recognition for a specific speaker's voice. I suspect that just the basic conversion of the speech into text needs more processing power and memory than is available on the iPhone, even the 4S, which is why they have to upload the voice data to the servers (although I assume that they do some compression on the voice data first before uploading it in order to minimise network traffic, possibly very specialist compression since they know what specific features of the input will be needed for the subsequent analysis).

    - Julian
     
  23. NorfolkMustard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  24. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yep as stated your voice command etc are send back to the Siri daddy server who translates and send back! That is for ALL tasks. Hence why Siri can learn so quickly as it's a cumulative database! The more it's used the better it gets. Come Friday there will be 1.5-2 million users hitting that nice new apple data centre where Siri lives!
     

Share This Page