Siri remote DOA?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kissmo, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #1
    Jesus.
    I just plugged in the TV
    Remote was charging at my laptop for about 2 hours.

    Select Country region.
    I cannot swipe - I cannot click... nothing happens....

    Is there anything I should be doing????
     
  2. fanboi4lyfe macrumors regular

    fanboi4lyfe

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Take it to Apple? Or see Apple's User guide maybe for some help? http://help.apple.com/appletv/

    If a store isn't close then I would open up a chat or try calling their support and have them walk you through some troubleshooting.
     
  3. kissmo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #3
    Solved!

    I used an old remote from ATV3

    I set up everything and then unpaired the remote Menu +
    And then it worked.

    Jesus!
     
  4. kissmo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #4
    It'a just weird that an apple tv should ship like it was paired before with a remote and refused to pair with the one in the box....
     
  5. hamiltonDSi macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #5
    So the old remotes work ?
    That's great !
    I have a couple of the old ones (one aluminum, one plastic) laying around from old Macbooks.
    If the new one breaks i'll have back up, and this is good news because the Siri Remote is kinda expensive - 80 Euros here in Romania - that's about 90$.
     
  6. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #6
    One person mentioned that he had to turn Bluetooth on using his old remote to get the new remote working.
     
  7. kissmo, Nov 2, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015

    kissmo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #7
    I'm Romanian also friend :)

    My plastic remote works pretty well...
    Yes - it's exactly what happened.
    What if a person doesn't have an old remote??? :)
     

Share This Page