Siri Remote poor response to trackpad clicks

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by GreatOldOne, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. GreatOldOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #1
    My Siri remote has started to exhibit poor responsiveness to when the trackpad is clicked. Swiping on it still moves the focus around the app icons and up and down menus, but clicking in the center to select stuff often takes one, two or sometimes more tries to get it to register. Same goes for clicking to the left or right sides to skip forward or back in video, or to skip ads in You tube.

    I've tried 'resetting' the remote as per instructions I've found on the web, and then re connecting it to the ATV... But it doesn't solve the problem.

    Is there anything else I can try, or is it a case of duff remote - take it back to the Apple Store?

    TIA,

    Jason
     
  2. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #2
    with out trying to sound demeaning, but what's the charge like on it?
     
  3. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #3
    Fine - one of the first things I thought of. Fully charged, still does the same thing.
     
  4. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #4
    I'm not sure if it would affect it, but do you have anything near it that could cause interference? maybe any other devices that are capable of BT?
     
  5. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
  6. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #6
    BT? plenty. :)

    Three iPhones, 2 iPads. 2 MBPs (when they're open). Another Siri Remote for the second ATV (one ATV is in the Lounge, one in the master bedroom which is above the sitting room - so in BT range). The remote for the one in the lounge works fine, no issues - and the iPads and phones are usually around when it's in use.
     
  7. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #7
    Just out of curiosity are they ATV3 & 4? (has nothing to do with your problem, im being nosey :p) I can't imagine they would cause an issue, as I normaly have an iPhone, MBP or iPad near one of my ATV's at anytime, and I've never had an issue with them.

    The only thing I'd suggest is maybe keeping them out of range/turning BT off (iOS and everything else) and then having a play with the remote and see what happens, but I can't really think of it being that. I also hope for your sake its not that's a lot BT devices to turn off haha.

    As @Mac... nificent has suggested it would still be under warranty, I'd have a look at getting it booked in maybe?
     
  8. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #8
    two ATV4s - I managed to flog my old ATV3s :)

    But yeah - I'm beginning to think that a trip to the apple store is in order.
     
  9. an-other macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #9
    I've noticed if you've clicked the SIRI button accidentally, it can lock up the remote until you click it again. Other buttons may be working this way, too.

    YMMV. Worth testing as it's a free and easy fix.
     
  10. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Is there any possibility that you've turned on the Accessibility Shortcuts for the Apple TV? I've found that if those are turned on then clicks or actions done on the remote can sometimes fail to register.
     

Share This Page