Siri Working in the UK

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by perry245, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. perry245 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #1
    Hi, Will Siri ever work in the uk?

    I hate it that I can't ask for directions or tell me where the nearest place is.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. TheAppleSource macrumors regular

    TheAppleSource

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Currently Siri is technically still in beta, so Apple is likely going to add more features to Siri slowly throughout the world. For example, the latest iOS update (5.1) added Siri language support for those who can speak Japanese.

    So unfortunately for now you just need to sit tight and wait.
     
  3. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Wirelessly posted

    Siri I'm lost.

    Useless in uk.

    You'd think with all that money it'd be sorted.
     
  4. bandofbrothers, Mar 21, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012

    bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #4
    Perhaps a tweak could be born to sort this out for uk users ?!?
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    As stated, it's still in BETA so I guess we will just have to wait. I use it on my 4S for texts, email etc. it would be nice to have the full functionality, but it takes time I guess.

    Adding UK business and takeaway stuff, movies, etc. takes time.
     
  6. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Wirelessly posted

    How does it take time? Google shows it in a search. You just interpret that or use/pay a company that already does like yellow pages or something.
     
  7. stevemiller macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #7
    personally, i question the argument of "location stuff doesn't work because its in beta" as if the feature isn't functional yet. the hold up has to be licensing, and is likely related to their tense relationship with google and potential movement away from their mapping service.

    much like at&t they had a contract in place in the US, apple probably has a similar agreement for google maps, but the terms for other regions might have been less stringent and now google is using whatever loopholes they can since their relationship has soured.

    its unfortunate and ultimately pretty petty, since they must really be mincing words to deem siri searches out of scope, when you can open google maps and do a voice dictated search, and external apps like mail and notes can even parse address data from generic input, generating direct links to google maps.
     
  8. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #8

    yeah, but remember its still in beta..... :rolleyes:

    lol


    Kinda gets annoying doesn't it when thats the standard reply regarding Siri !
     

Share This Page