Site doesn't open on safari

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by oscarodas, Dec 14, 2016.

  1. oscarodas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #1
    Hi, there is a site hermanotango.com.ar that used to work for me but now it doesn't open, tried three different browsers and also a windows laptop but to no avail. On safari I get a white screen saying that safari can't open the page, on Chrome says that the site took too long to respond. Sometimes I get this message " SQL Server does not exist or access denied" . The owner of the page doesn't have any restrictions because is a place to look for tango lyrics.
    I asked a few friends in south america and they don't have any issues, any help is welcome, thank you.
    Oscar
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just checked and that site works fine for me in Safari in Sierra. Do you have any ablockers or extensions running?
     
  3. Efrem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3
    Works fine for me with Safari 10.0.2, El Capitan, in the northeast U.S. Don't suppose the bits got mixed up crossing the South Pacific, do you?
     
  4. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #4
    No, I don't have any blockers on safari, it looks like the site doesn't work in Australia, I have asked some friends in different parts of australia and they are unable to open the site either using Mac or pc computers, also using Safari, Chrome and Opera.
    Thanks again.
     
  5. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #5
    Reviving an old thread.
    As I stated before I'm unable to open the www.hermanotango.com.ar it lists Tango lyrics. I bought a new computer and mobile phone, but still no luck, A friend managed to open the site on his iphone, I have the same model phone and same isp provider and can't open it. relatives in North and South America can view the site without problems. Is there any sugestions? Thank you.
     
  6. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #6
    Works ok for me. MacOS 10.12.6, Safari 12.0.1
     
  7. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #7
    Hi, for some reason it doesn't open here in Australia, always get the message Server timed out.
    I have tried on High Sierra, Mojave, ios 12.1.1, on windows 8, 10, on laptops and desktops, to no avail, I have contacted the owner of the site and he says that nothing has changed, I was a regular user and one day it stopped working.
     
  8. jtara, Dec 5, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018

    jtara macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #8
    Do you get the same error message?

    The error message is saying that the web server isn't talking to the database server. It could be anything from a bad physical connection to a transient network problem to an overloaded database server.

    If the site doesn't work in Safari, why not use a different browser?

    From the looks of the site, it's a very old site that hasn't been updated in a long time. If it's not updated, it will probably at some point cease to work (or have some troubles) with ALL browsers. I would use the OLDEST browser you can get your hands on!

    You can probably find oldy-moldly versions of Netscape Navigator that can still be downloaded, for example. Of course, they won't run on MacOS/OSX, which didn't exist yet. You might have to install e.g. a Windows XP VM or something more ancient. ;)

    I took a quick look with Chrome inspection tools. OMG that site uses framesets! That is WAY obsolete and has been removed from some/most browsers. How old is it, Johnny? It's so old that caniuse.com doesn't even track which browsers support it any more. Framesets were a Netscape thing!

    I used to run a site called San Diego Baycam (but actually hosted on my former domain live.net) that used framesets! There was a webcam of San Diego Bay in a middle frame, links below, and if you were lucky and had the right browser, in later years had controls that allowed you to pan/zoom the camera. You can browse some of the old stills and videos on the Wayback Machine. (live.net/sandiego)

    Here's a blast from 2002... "If you were running Netscape 1.1 or higher, the image above would be moving!" LOL

    https://web.archive.org/web/20021014085743/http://live.net:80/sandiego/

    Framesets were a Netscape thing. OK, seriously this time - install a Windows XP VM and and old copy of Netscape. Or original Internet Explorer.

    Good thing is there is very little Javascript there, and no Javascript framework. Some little counter thingie, and looks like a little Ajax helper.

    I suspect that error message had nothing to do with the more general problem you've had. It's just an old site that is probably not maintained, probably has a limited pipe to the net, and doesn't get much attention when it breaks. You happened to wander in once when there was a problem with the database server.
     
  9. oscarodas, Dec 10, 2018 at 12:42 AM
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018 at 12:50 AM

    oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #9
    Hi, jtara,I get this message: "Safari can'nt open the page: hermanotango.com.ar because because the server where this page is locatedisn't responding". I used the site for a few ywars with a pc and then changed to an iMac, never had any troubles, when it stopped working I asked the owner of the site if he had blocked me, and he said he wouln't know how to do it, he payas some company in Argentina for the site, I have tried every browser under the sun with windows ans os X, without luck, as you said, if it requires an old browser I'm out of luck because at the moment I only use Mojave.
    But thanks for the long explanation.
     
  10. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #10
    Works fine. Just tested it.

    Can you get to http://www.hermanotango.com.ar/PAGINA_PRINCIPAL.htm

    What's your internet speed? Are you using Dial Up?
     
  11. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #11
    No, I couldn't open the link, my internet speed is 100MB down/40MB up, i'm on the optical fibre service here in Australia.
     
  12. ribbo1939 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Just tried it here in Australia and it opens albeit in a foreign language (Spanish etc.)
    I'm using Safari 12.0.2 (14606.3.4) on Mojave 10.14.2
     
  13. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13
    Have you tried using a VPN and connecting through a different country?
     
  14. jtara, Dec 11, 2018 at 11:08 PM
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018 at 11:15 PM

    jtara macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #14
    As I mentioned earlier, I have no trouble opening the site. But I have noticed some strange things with it.

    I did a traceroute, which you can do yourself in a console window:

    ☺ ➜ ~ traceroute www.hermanotango.com.ar
    traceroute to www.hermanotango.com.ar (190.183.59.238), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
    1 router.asus.com (10.0.1.1) 0.946 ms 0.279 ms 0.300 ms
    2 10.1.1.113 (10.1.1.113) 1.071 ms 0.866 ms 0.707 ms
    3 10.1.8.177 (10.1.8.177) 0.863 ms 3.145 ms 2.056 ms
    4 10.11.0.45 (10.11.0.45) 4.690 ms 4.058 ms 3.987 ms
    5 v347.core1.lax2.he.net (66.220.6.133) 4.362 ms 4.465 ms 4.379 ms
    6 100ge8-2.core1.pao1.he.net (184.105.81.237) 12.153 ms 12.132 ms 11.868 ms
    7 seabone-net-as6762.10gigabitethernet4-8.core1.pao1.he.net (65.19.169.206) 12.132 ms 12.092 ms 11.944 ms
    8 et1-1-0.miami19.mia.seabone.net (89.221.41.187) 78.597 ms
    et0-3-0.miami19.mia.seabone.net (89.221.41.161) 76.901 ms 76.654 ms
    9 gigared.miami19.mia.seabone.net (89.221.41.131) 205.173 ms 212.875 ms 201.987 ms
    10 190.183.254.186 (190.183.254.186) 217.331 ms 203.026 ms 205.650 ms
    11 * * *
    12 * * *
    13 * * *
    14 * * *
    15 * * *
    16 * * *
    17 * * *
    18 * * *

    Those *** at the end usually indicate something is wrong with routing. It should have stopped at line 10, which is the site in question. The result suggests some mis-routing with the site's ISP or datacenter.

    The IP address geolocates to Argentina, and this is the provider where it is hosted:

    https://www.gigared.com.ar/

    Gigared must be a pretty substantial ISP provider, because they have a point of presence in Miami.

    The site does not support SSL/https: So, there's one thing. Your browser may be set to block it, as browsers roll out versions that are ever more restrictive about connecting to sites that do not support a secure connection.

    Chrome allows the connection, but shows it as not secure.

    If you explicitly include https:// in the address, Chrome asks for confirmation that you still want to go to the site.

    However, if you do, it displays just some links that go off to a site in Norway (www.tfou.no) that sells down-filled clothing. No, really. I guess in parts of Argentina, you would want/need down-filled clothing! So, I think this is something from some advertising campaign, and the site throws a piston rod if you explicitly include the https: and perhaps through some misconfiguration you are directed to another site on the same shared web server. Probably a Norwegian company marketing their products in Argentina...

    The page literally shows only the following keyword-stuffing: (hopefully my copy-paste copied only text, not links...)

    (deleted - it was the links - don't want to post spam. Basically says stuff like canada goose, blah, blah, blah)

    If you are in contact with the site owner, you might suggest that he try to figure out how to get SSL enabled on his creaky old site, as it will work with fewer and fewer browsers, at least with default browser settings. And ask what's with the flock of geese.
     
  15. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    My comment was mainly for the OP, who can't open the link.
     
  16. oscarodas, Dec 13, 2018 at 12:35 PM
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018 at 1:11 PM

    oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #16
    Thanks for the comments, today I did open the gigared site, unfortuntelly is imposible to send them an e-mail, the forms included must be filled with all the fields, and they include the cities they operate about eight in some small towns in Argentina, so they ask you for the phone number, city and postcode, and all have to be from those sites. appart from that there is no way to contact them.mainly the site provides services of tv, radio and internet.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 13, 2018 at 12:38 PM ---
    Hi ribbo1939, I got exactly the same software on my iMac, but can't open the site, I have also used chrome, Canary (beta), opera, Camino, and none of them opens the site. My friend was able to open it on his iphone 7+ ios 12.1.1 but couldn't do it on his iPad, mine is iphone X ios 12.1.1 we are with Optus, so it could be a software or hardware related problem?
    --- Post Merged, Dec 13, 2018 at 12:42 PM ---
    The owner of the Hermano Tango, has a radio station dedicated to Tango, and he told me he doesn't have a clue how the site operates, he pays someone to do it. And as I mentioned before I was able to use for years without problem.
     
  17. jtara macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #17
    Browsers change. Websites that don't change to work with the changed browsers are soon forgotten.

    "The moving finger writes, and having writ, moves on" - The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyam, 1859

    Make sure your browser isn't set to block sites that are not secure. That site is not secure.

    That doesn't mean "run away". I doubt you care that somebody might be able to spy on your selection of tango music! ;)

    But it does mean that more and more browsers will block it by default, as the browsers come out with updates.

    SOMETHING is different between you and others who are able to open it.

    - Browsers settings
    - firewall
    - router firewall

    etc. etc. etc.
     
  18. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #18
    Thanks jtara for your patience, guess I will have to give up on using the site, today I tried Safari, Chrome, and Firefox, and all browsers only report that the site I'm trying to open has timed out, I don't have firewall enabled, or antivirus. My provider router have firewall but is disabled the same as Parent control, and my ISP provider said that they don't block any sites unless told by the goberment, which is true because not long ago I tried a torrent site and got this flashing page and the aforementioned warning.
     
  19. jtara macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #19
    Oh! You're in Australia!

    Your gobernment is one step behind the Great Firewall of China.

    Is somebody in Canberra offended by tango music? ;)

    Most to all small sites operate on shared servers. The server might have other sites that your government takes offense to. It's only possible to block by IP address, so if one site is blocked, all the sites on the same server are blocked.

    I suppose it's not legal to ask or disclose if a site is blocked. :(

    See if other Australians can access the site.

    You could try using a VPN.

    Oh, that's probably not legal either.

    Hope I didn't just bounce this discussion to PRSI.
     
  20. oscarodas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #20
    Of all the people I have asked (roughly 35-40) only one was able to do it on his phone, but couldn't on his ipad or computer, about blocking a particular IP address makes sense, because I can visit some sites with my isp provider, but my daughter which has a different provider can open them on hers.
     
  21. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #21
    That's why I recommended a VPN. It gets by all of that.
     

Share This Page