Site Grinder Feedback

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by HarleyMan, Jun 17, 2009.

1. HarleyMan macrumors member

HarleyMan

I'm a Graphic Artist that has worked in print media. I am now forced to move to web design to supplement income as the print arena is dying to be sure. I need to get up and running ASAP and have looked at the WYSIWYG web design programs, with of course Dreamweaver being the "Preferred Professional" program. Well I'm not that impressed with Dreamweaver as it seems very powerful, but not the easiest to learn as it is rather complicated. I have read other threads where others are also not impressed by the Adobe hype.

I have looked at the alternatives listed in other threads as well, but did not see SiteGrinder2 listed. I have downloaded the demo and worked with it and it seems the easiest to get started with, and get my brain around.

I am looking for feedback from those that have used, or do use, SiteGrinder2 for web page production. I'll take the good or the bad and looking for the pluses and the pitfalls of SiteGrinder2 !

Thanks a Lot.

2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

Never heard of site grinder but if you are needing to integrate web design into your portfolio i have a few suggestions and tools i recommend though i am a developer and not a designer the tools are the same these days.

Start with HTML Dog then move onto w3c schools and learn HMTL and CSS and learn it well.

To progress further get some working knowledge of a server side scripting language and if you wish to include some fancy effects get to grips with Javascript then once you are comfortable with the basics of Javascript then you can move on and learn Jquery.

Now the next thing for you is a list of some tools you will learn to love, i will focus on design level applications first.