Site is locking up Safari

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by NunoBerny, Nov 14, 2014.

  1. NunoBerny macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #1
    This site locks up Safari. Can't use any other open tab until I close this one.
    The progress bar fills up halfway, but no more than that.

    https://www.portaldasfinancas.gov.pt/pt/inicio.action

    Can someone test it for me, so that I know if the problem is only happening on my system?
    It worked fine a few months, but it's been acting up for more than a month now...
    This is a very important site for me, it's been a major annoyance not being able to use it.

    I'm using Safari v7.1.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #2
    Hello,

    same problem here (10.9.5, Safari 7.1).

    The site works fine in Chrome, though.
     
  3. NunoBerny thread starter macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #3
    Thanks!

    Maybe it will get solved in some future update...
    I don't like to have more than one browser installed, but in this case I'll have to. :)
     
  4. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #4
    I would rather say that it is necessary to have at least two browsers installed, in case something goes wrong with the first one.

    Imagine your Safari crashes, how will you solve the problem if you no longer can access the Internet ?
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    OP:
    The url you provided won't load (using Safari) for me, either.

    I suggest you consider either (or better yet, both) of the following browsers:

    - Epic Privacy Browser

    - Firefox
     
  6. NunoBerny, Nov 15, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014

    NunoBerny thread starter macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #6
    Thanks for the replies.

    Indeed, the "having only one browser" is something I decided to do without a real reason. :)
    I'll install Chrome. Hopefully, I will be able to use that particular page without problems.
     

Share This Page