Sites refreshing (ram?)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by RiddlaBronc, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. RiddlaBronc macrumors 6502a

    RiddlaBronc

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Location:
    Mcallen Tx
    #1
    When i have two websites (forums) opened and i am typing something into the reply box and i switch to the other site to verify info and then back to my typing, it refreshes and loses all my typing.

    Is this ram related or what? With only two forums opened on safari? Frustrating..
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors G3

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Yeah, this is related to the limited amount of RAM that the iPhones and iPads have.
     
  3. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
    That and how iOS browsers work in general. This is something that is in serious need of addressing.
     
  4. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #4
    Download the Atomic Browser from the App Store.

    Use that.

    Job done.
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    Hasnt the development of that browser been essentially abandoned for some time now?
     
  6. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #6



    It's a fully finished browser and since downloading this on my iPad Air I've had no refreshed tabs for a couple of months.

    So one can keep using safari and risk having tabs re loading with few tabs open or use an "abandoned" browser and have none.

    Beauty of choice.
     
  7. regkilla macrumors 6502

    regkilla

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Yeah use that and not be able to save pictures.
     
  8. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #8

    It has an open in safari mode so you can save pictures.

    A Minor hindrance to the issues of tabs re loading regularly don't you think. :)
     
  9. regkilla macrumors 6502

    regkilla

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #9
    It's not an all-in-one finished browser then.
     
  10. sunking101 macrumors 604

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #10
    It's also in the iOS6 style, with the old keyboard.
     
  11. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #11


    Nope and neither is safari unfortunately.

    We are discussing tab refreshing here and as such as my usage dictates I no longer have this issue on my iPad Air using atomic browser.

    As long as your getting the experience you want using whichever browser then that's all that is important.

    Happy days.
     
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12

    I agree with you but that is a solution to a problem that should not exist. Safari integrates so well via iCloud and across the rest of my devices I hate to use anything else.

    And while it might not be as feature packed as some other browsers it does what I need very well. I'm left calling this refreshing issue a flaw/bug regardless of programming.

    Just be nice if it didn't do it! Such is life.
     

Share This Page