Six-core retina iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by underblu, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. underblu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #1
    With tha availability of 6 and 8 core chips I'd love to see a 6 or 8 core option for the next iMac refresh.

    Has anyone successfully modded their existing retina iMac with a 6 or 8 core chip?
     
  2. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #2
    Considering they are completely the wrong socket then don't see how anyone would have.
     
  3. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #3
    Highly doubt 6 and 8 core CPUs are coming to iMac anytime soon.
     
  4. Zdigital2015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Location:
    East Coast, United States
    #4
    As mcnallym pointed out, Intel's 6- and 8-core CPUs use a completely different socket (LGA1150 for the current iMac, LGA201-v3 for 6- and 8-core). In addition, the 6- and 8-core CPUs have way to high a TDP (130w-140w) than the highest end 4-core CPUs that are in the iMac (84w-88w), which means the iMac chassis couldn't get rid of that much heat before damaging it's internal components. As much as I'd like to see Apple provide a six- or eight- core BTO option for the iMac, a Mac Pro will most likely be your only option for the foreseeable future.
     
  5. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #5
    What better way for to help cannibalize Mac Pro sales even more than for Apple to offer cutting edge 6- and 8-core CPUs in their iMac line! Sounds like a great move for Apple :)
     
  6. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    Why? Which software do you use that can use a six or eight core CPU's? Don't forget these are i7, so they also have hyperthreading. So a four core can handle already 8 threads, a six core 12, etc. More cores usually means lower Ghz.

    I have worked at a high end architectural firm. Their best render boxes where (Dell) 4 core Xeons with a high end gpu with 8 GB of Ram, SSD scratch disc and a very fast network connection to a big SSD raid. They let them render all nigt long.
    It didn't make sense to use Xeons with more cores as they used to have 6 core Xeons. They where too expensive and the software almost never used it, more speed gains came from the higher Ghz of the 4 core and the beast of a GPU. These are render boxes, an iMac or any all in one isn't. That's why the MacPro exists and has ECC Ram.

    Don't get me wrong, if affordable I would buy a 6-core iMac, just for bragging rights! ;)
    However, I already can't push my i7 to the limits.
     
  7. joema2 macrumors 65816

    joema2

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #7
    Basic, common operations in Lightroom and FCP X take all available cores. Last night I exported to jpg the raw 42 megapixel photos from a single afternoon's shooting. All eight virtual cores on my top-spec 2013 iMac were maxed out, and it took several hours. If I had 16 or 32 cores, it would have used that.

    Similarly, just applying common plugin filters or exporting in FCP X takes often takes all available cores.

    Doing these common operations while watching the performance indicators in iStat Menus, etc. shows they are highly parallelized and CPU-bound, and the more cores the better.
     
  8. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
  9. PBMB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #9
    Well, you don't try hard enough. Many computer users are running multiple tasks at the same time today. And since OS X distributes the load across all system resources, this asks for more cores. Imagine for example compiling source code with Fink or Macports and converting some audio/photo/video in the background, while at the same time watching a video, browsing the web or listening to music. You can happily have a 6- or 8-core machine to handle the load, for the time it lasts at least.

    But there is even consumer-grade software, like the Video Converter from iSkysoft, that will eat up all cores while applying a video transformation. This is not pro's work, it is not going to last for hours and I can imagine almost anyone doing it.

    It is a pity that Intel's multicore chips come with incompatible sockets. On the positive side, the 4-core chips can reach higher frequencies than the n-core ones, n > 4.
     
  10. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #10
    If you've seen the specs you've seen the price no chance apple will use those in the iMac.
     

Share This Page