Sixtyforce Zelda problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by psychofreak, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I recently paid for sixtyforce, largely to be able to save my games and therefore complete Zelda Ocarina of Time. With both a .rom and .v64 file, after beating the first boss, then speaking to the Deku Tree, the application closes. I have replayed this many times, and every time it occurs in the same place, whether I say yes or no to the Deku tree.

    This problem does not appear to be shown on the sixtyforce website, where Zelda Ocarina of Time compatibility is rated 'Very good'.

    Does anyone have a fix?


    Addition: Permissions repair has been tried, as with restart
     
  2. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #2
    What version are you using? I've used 0.8.5 and 0.9.x now and not had that problem. My problem is in the Forest temple, I put the blocks together correctly for the third Poe and nothing happens. No matter what I do or tried, I can't get the third poe to come out. Anyone have a fix for that?
     
  3. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    You may want to look at your settings on Sixty Force, maybe they need to be setup in a different manner to get certain problems worked through, no emulator is 100% perfect, it may or may not be your hardware, it could be the version of the game you're using (yes there are different versions), it could also be the software itself doesn't have the instruction set to handle those kinds of items.
     
  5. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    People have got further than this point in Sixtyforce

    I am using a 2.0GHz Macbook CD with 1GB RAM

    As my ROM did not work, I got others from 'around', even with different file extensions.
     
  6. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #6
    It's a problem with Intel machines. I'm pretty sure of this since I'm on a G4 and my brother is on a MacBook Pro and he's having the same issues. He sent me a gamefreeze and it worked fine for me, so I just got past that part for him, saved the freeze, and sent it back to him.
     
  7. tellbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    #7
    i'm using 0.9.0 on a g4 and i'm getting the same problem in the forest temple.
     
  8. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #8
    No no, the Intel issue is for it freezing after the first boss.

    To get past the third poe, I finally figured out how. See my post here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=3546611&postcount=12
     
  9. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    So, is it a known problem with a fix on the way, or am I screwed?
     
  10. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #10
    Dunno. If you haven't, you should probably contact the developer.
     
  11. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #11
    I don't know if you tried this, but are you running it in full screen?

    When I had SixtyForce, and I played Zelda 'til adult age, and I had no problem with it. I believe it's because I'm not running full screen.

    Check that.

    Steve
     
  12. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #12
    No, both fullscreen and window-mode crash...
     
  13. mac-bitch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #13
    I suffered from the same prob using a MBP 2,3 GHhz.

    I "solved" it by using sixtyforce 0.8.5 2min ago :)

    you can still dl it from their website!
     
  14. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Thanks, I will, but only after my GCSEs, and hopefully there will be a fix by then :)
     
  15. amacguy1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #15
    Could somebody post the EXACT steps (ie, which blocks you have to move exactly where) to get past the third poe in the forest temple?

    I've read the post on it, and I still can't seem to get it to work, despite trying a variety of other methods.
     
  16. LGBeatris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Los Gatos
    #16
    same issue

    I am having the exact same problem, I used the Original Ocarina of Time rom. and the Master Quest rom. but I am running into the same issue. I am looking for an answer also.
     
  17. Robot Monkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #17
    EDIT: admin please delete this post. I pressed post accidently.
     
  18. ereas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #18
    i'm using a macbook pro, is there a way to get sixtyforce to stop crashing? i've tried several different roms.. i load them up, and it starts to work, then it just closes the program. any suggestions?
     
  19. Xelda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #19
    I am also having trouble playing zelda on sixtyforce. i have a new imac running leopard and I am using sixtyforce 9.0.
    When I play ocarina of time, I get past the first deku tree stage and sixtyforce crashes. When I try majora's mask, I get the ocarina from the skull kid and then when link is remembering the songs zelda taught him, there is sound but the image is shot and I can't see what is going on so I can't go any further.
    If anyone can help me with this it would be very appreciated.
     
  20. jak0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #20
    help with ocarina of time

    hi, i am trying to play ocarina of time, but have dowloaded 60force and zelda torrent can get past the first page, dont know if im just being really stupid, its when i press start game and it says open file 1 then tells me to type my name for the game start but just starts with the letter f and wont let me type anthing
     
  21. scarlet-phoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    #21
    you have to use command button is A option button is for B.

    but maybe it the version of the game you downloaded, personally my torrent version sucks. When they start off the story about link in his home it looks like a kid drew it out on Paint. If you have a better version tell me.
     
  22. SlamJuice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    #22
    My Strange problem

    I've played through the game perfectly fine until I became Adult Link... It still ran fine, it's just when I learnt the Song of Storms and Song of Time. After I had learnt these songs, I could not play them. When I bring the ocarina out and play the notes it doesn't regester the song I played, it's as if i haven't learnt the songs at at all when I have. I've tried everything to fix this problem but I have no idea what to do, does anyone have any idea? -- a bit irrelevent to the main topic here but :C can someone help?

    I need these songs to progress in the game.. get past the forest temple. :C

    Any help would be appreciated, Random interwebz user.

    xoxo <- because i'm gay.
     

Share This Page