Skipping APL ED Discount, Considering Amazon

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ErikAndre, Feb 1, 2008.

1. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

ErikAndre

So I think I'm considering Amazon as a purchase gateway... I'm a student and was going with Apple only for the Ed Discount and just get all the BTO options elsewhere, but someone on the forums mentioned a better deal on Amazon, so I checked it out...

Stock Config (as of 02-01-08 with shipping, taxes):

Apple Store (with ED Discount)
    Base Price: $2599.00
    Shipping: Free
    Taxes: $162.44
    Est. Total: $2761.44

Amazon (with rebate)
    Base Price: $2784.00
    Shipping: Free
    Taxes: Free
    Mail-In Rebate: ($150.00)
    Est. Total: $2634.10

Looks pretty good to me [​IMG]... So...

1) Is it crazy to go with Amazon? (I should be ok, right?)

2) Will it upset Apple in the Warranty Dept if I find a problem with it?

3) Where can I find the Wireless Kit & 8800GT kit for the mac pro? (links?)

4) Should I just wait and go with Apple and get the BTO options, save the headache?
    *considering the savings I'd get through Amazon*​

2. DerekS macrumors 6502

I just went through the exact same decision process on the same 8-core machine. Mine shipped from Amazon yesterday and arrives today! :)

Amazon is just fine - they are a very reputable seller. Buying from them will have no effect on your warranty.

You can buy the wireless kit at your local Apple store (I have done this myself for my last Mac Pro.) BTO makes your order get delayed like crazy.

Are you buying extra ram? I normally buy it from Crucial.com but this time I ordered from OtherWorldComputing.

3. ErikAndre thread starter macrumors 6502a

ErikAndre

So, just walk right in there and ask for it... they won't get all kung fu on me and tell me only Apple Authorized Reps are allowed to install it? (so I've heard about the wireless kit)

Yes, I plan to buy the 8GB option at OWC (4x2gb).

4. ErikAndre thread starter macrumors 6502a

ErikAndre