Skyfire and hulu and espn3?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by supermac96, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. supermac96 macrumors 6502a

    supermac96

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    #1
    I was thinking if i got skyfire and one of those cydia apps that tricks websites to think that you are accesing from a computer could you use hulu and espn3? that would be awesome!
     
  2. ghostshadow macrumors regular

    ghostshadow

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Since it plays flash videos it might. I wasn't able to get a copy while it was in the app store. I am not 100% but hulu might be tricky if it doesn't parse it correctly.
     
  3. Crigger540 macrumors member

    Crigger540

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    The Old Dominion
    #3
    I don't know about ESPN, but Hulu is a no. They are actively blocking Skyfire to protect the Hulu+ subscriptions. I managed to get Skyfire before it sold out and it works great on Southpark studios website.
     
  4. supermac96 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    supermac96

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    #4
    wait it sold out? never heard of that happening with an app store app. how do you sell out an app?
     
  5. ghostshadow macrumors regular

    ghostshadow

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    They sold more copies than their data center could handle. Since they have to transcode the video they were over saturated. I think they are adjusting to serve everybody. They are now going to be releasing the app in batches as their hardware / data servers can handle the load.
     
  6. benhollberg, Nov 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010

    benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #6
    There app is available right now. If someone tries ESPN3 and it works then I will buy it immediately. Please someone try this.
     
  7. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #7
    According to the community on the Skyfire website ESPN 3 will not work. I believe because ESPN 3 is usually streaming live events. The others on the community of Skyfire say that also because you have to be using certain ISPs to use ESPN 3.
     

Share This Page