skype a reality

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kaician, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. kaician macrumors member

    kaician

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    appstore's fring+cydia's voipover3g= skype on iphone, anywhere.

    YAY :D
     
  2. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #2
    Tried fring and it doesn't work for me. Set it up through my skype account and it promptly terminates every call I try to make whether or not I add a "+".
     
  3. eplchamps0304 macrumors 6502a

    eplchamps0304

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #3
    mine too?
     
  4. pol0001 macrumors 6502

    pol0001

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Works fine for me over wifi. no problems at all.
     
  5. efp1 macrumors 6502

    efp1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    i've noticed that fring doesn't connect to skype right away. you always have to wait a few minutes before it properly connects, even though the little fring guy is green (connected).

    just wait for 5 minutes with the app open and try to place a call. it works for me every time. of course, you have to be on wifi, it doesn't work otherwise.
     
  6. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #6
    How well does Fring work anyway? Is it 100% free, or is the application just free and it requires a subscription?
     
  7. Flhusky macrumors 6502a

    Flhusky

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Fring is just a 'Front End' to multiple services.
    Skype is a subscription VoIP service, pretty cheap and you can use it (Skype) on any platform.
    If your into SIP that also works w/Fring
     
  8. nitewolfgtr macrumors regular

    nitewolfgtr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #8
    well that's the problem... dont want to wait 5 mins... :mad:
     
  9. kaician thread starter macrumors member

    kaician

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #9
    the whole point is that with voipover3g, you can use skype anywhere, not just when connected to wifi...

    mine works fine over 3g...
     
  10. nigetheman22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #10
    Im new to skype and I am trying to set up Skype with fring on my Ipod touch and I am planning to use this feature in Australia to make calls to Canada. Will it not matter that I am out of the country? thanks
     
  11. Flhusky macrumors 6502a

    Flhusky

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    Skype don't care where you are. Just what plan you have.
     
  12. phapn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
  13. shevi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #13
    I'm currently in Canada (but have a US AT&T phone) and I've been using skype through fring with my hotel's wifi. It works great. You may want to get the monthly subscription that gets you unlimited calls to the US and Canada for the time you're in Australia.

    Also, make sure to have data roaming turned off if you don't want a crazy bill! I have my phone in airplane mode with wifi enabled.
     
  14. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #14
    Thanks. I'm going to explore the option and see how well it works. 75% of the time my phone is on a Wi-Fi. It would be nice to call for free - I'll be waiting for that app (the name escapes me at the moment - it's still in alpha development) that transfers your calls to Wi-Fi automatically and for free!
     
  15. jlake02 macrumors 68020

    jlake02

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    L.A.
    #15
    Fring rocks. Just wish we could use the 3G rather than needing a WiFi. :/
     
  16. sergiuria macrumors 6502a

    sergiuria

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Near a bunch of T-Rex
    #16
    If you jailbreak your phone, you can! It's callen VoIPover3G, which makes the phone believe it is on wifi, and you can use 3G, Edge, and GPRS!
     

Share This Page