Skype: Adding buddies???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MBX, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    What's going on with Skype? I get an exact skype buddy name from some people and I can't add some of them (simply doesn't find it). Why does it have to do a search instead of just directly adding it like AIM?

    Any way to fix this?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    you must not be entering the name correctly.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #3
    Where are those options on your screenshot located? When i select "add a contact" the search box appears and there's no option to directly add a contact but to confirm the search first and most of the time it's not finidng the contacts even if the exact buddy name is put in.

    Thanks
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Hmm, I just entered the "test" screen name into the search bar on the top of the buddy list.
     
  5. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #5
    Jeez so Skype is so non-userfriendly. You have to do these kind of things to get to the proper features. My goodness.

    If you didn't do a search in the search box you can only add your buddies by entering it in the "searching for buddies"-panel where it does a worldwide search for it and often doesn't find it no matter if you type the exact buddyname into it.

    Somebody at Skype seriously needs to get fired and get the UI working properly.

    Thanks again :)
     
  6. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    I'm not really sure why it doesn't find the buddy name if you enter it exactly, it might be worth posting on the Skype forums or submitting a bug ticket to them. Anyway, I hope you get it sorted out.
     

Share This Page