Skype and Internet Access

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sam812, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. sam812 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #1
    I have recently gotten my first Mac and at first, Skype worked just fine. However, after having to reset my home internet network (the router), I cannot connect to Skype anymore.

    I get a notification saying:
    "Your current Wi-Fi network XYZ does not support Skype access. Please try another available public network.

    Tip: Skype Access doesn't work with private or closed networks"

    So I must have accidently changed the settings of my internet connection. How do I change it back?

    Thanks a lot!
    Sam
     
  2. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    You shouldn't be using Skype Access on your own network. It sounds like the configuration problem is for the Skype client and not your internet connection.
     
  3. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    What router are you using? Do you have a private or closed network, i.e. when you reconfigured your router, did you enable an option for "do not broadcast SSID/network name"? Additionally, if you had set up port forwarding or had opened some ports on the previous configuration, see if this link can help you identify what you need to correct on your side of things.
     
  4. sam812 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #4
    Oh right ... thanks, I wasn't aware that Skype Access was anything other than just using Skype. (Sorry, must have been a blond moment there...)
    Thanks for the help, it's fixed now.
     
  5. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Glad to hear that it worked out fine.

    Calling it "Skype Access" makes the notification painfully confusing though, they didn't think that one completely through in my opinion.
     

Share This Page